Friday, 24 October 2014

Blog Tour and Giveaway: The Girl Who Came Back to Life: A Fairytale

Hey,
Welcome to my stop of The Girl Who Came Back to Life blog tour!

Stay tuned for an interview with the author, Craig Staufenberg, and an awesome giveaway that means you have a chance to get your hands on this intriguing book. Check out the cover and blurb below:
The Girl Who Came Back to Life: A Fairytale
Release Date: April 16, 2014
When you die, your spirit wakes in the north, in the City of the Dead. There, you wander the cold until one of your living loved ones finds you, says "Goodbye," and Sends you to the next world. 

After her parents die, 12-year-old Sophie refuses to release their spirits. Instead, she resolves to travel to the City of the Dead to bring her mother and father's spirits back home with her. 

Taking the long pilgrimage north with her gruff & distant grandmother-by train, by foot, by boat; over ruined mountains and plains and oceans-Sophie struggles to return what death stole from her. Yet the journey offers her many hard, unexpected lessons-what to hold on to, when to let go, and who she must truly bring back to life.
-------------------------------------------
It sounds pretty dang cool, doesn't it? 

Now, let's welcome Craig Staufenberg to the post!
How did you get the idea for The Girl Who Came Back to Life?
The idea kicked around in me for the better part of a decade. It began with a novella I wrote back in college, but I never felt the novella was quite the whole story. I felt like there was something larger in there. So every once in a while, over the years, I’d pick up the idea— dust it off, and play with it. See where it went.

After years of this I decided to just make the thing. Put it to bed. So I sat down and started writing, and the whole story came out in a week—and it wasn’t exactly the story I imagined it was going to be. It took about a year after that to go through rounds of revising, beta reading, editing, and putting the actual book together.

But, to clarify, the book didn't come from an idea; it came from a feeling. A small distinction, but an important one.

What is the message of the book?
The book is about love and loss, and how we can live in a world that’s filled with both.

Is there going to be a sequel or is this a standalone novel?
At the moment it’s a standalone novel. The world is much bigger than the corner that Sophie inhabits, and it’s even much bigger than the long path she travels to reach the North. And I have an idea or two I've been kicking around for another story that takes place within that world. But at the moment I have no concrete plans to make another.

What other projects are you working on?
I’ve been getting into script writing the last few months. Mostly TV pilot writing. It’s been an exciting change of pace and format. I’m not opposed to writing more books, and I work all the time, but I can’t say what the next book I release will be, or when it will come out.


Favourite YA book/series?
The His Dark Materials series. I haven’t reread them for a few years, but I love those books. The scope Pullman works with—a massive, cosmic concern seen through the perspective of two kids just trying to get through it all—inspires me.


Sum up your book in 5 words.
Others have called it “beautiful.”
--------------------------------
To find out more about the author you can visit him on his website, Twitter or Facebook.

There is also a giveaway open for either a print or ebook copy of The Girl Who Came Back to Life by Craig Staufenferg. If you live in the US or Canada then you are eligible for a print copy, however if you live internationally you will receive an ebook copy. To enter simply fill out the Rafflecopter below:

Good luck to you all,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (126)

Hey, 

This week I'm waiting for...
Vanishing Girls
Release Date: March 3, 2015
Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late.

This sounds like it's going to contain a lot of feels. And it's Lauren Oliver. So... I'm there.
thank you animated GIF
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 20 October 2014

My review The Witch of Salt and Storm

The Witch of Salt and Storm by Kendall Kulper 
Release Date: September 4, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

The Witch of Salt and StormSixteen-year-old Avery Roe wants only to take her rightful place as the sea witch of Prince Island, making the charms that keep the island's whalers safe and prosperous at sea. But before she could learn how to control her power, her mother - the first Roe woman in centuries to turn her back on magic - steals Avery away from her grandmother. Avery must escape before her grandmother dies, taking with her the secrets of the Roe's power. 

The one magical remnant left to Avery is the ability to read dreams, and one night she foresees her own murder. Time is running short, both for her and for the people of her island who need the witches' help to thrive.



Avery has never read a dream that hasn't come true, but a tattooed harpoon boy named Tane tells her he can help her change her fate. Becoming a witch may prevent her murder and save her island from ruin, but Avery discovers it will also require a sacrifice she never expected. And as she falls in love with Tane, she learns it is his life and hers that hang in the balance.

The Witch of Salt and Storm is a rich and unique story woven in such a way that you can't help but fall into. Avery is just another witch in a long line of Roe witches who help make spells and charms for the people of the island. Without the magic, ships wouldn't sale as well, business would be poor, some may never find love. So when Avery's mother drags her away from her grandma's cottage and forbids her to become a witch and carry on the lineage, Avery must find a way to get back and become the witch. Along with this, there is also a romance plot which plays a large role in controlling the direction of the story and this makes it so much more exciting to read about, in case you thought this would just be another YA romance to add to the pile.

There are so many aspects that of the book that I fell for. I loved how the book was narrated and how the island is described so vividly that leads to the book having an incredible magical atmosphere. I had a real sense of the tradition of the island and how much the people rely on the witches to swing their fortunes. Also, the romance is bittersweet and so hard not to support. Avery and Tane (pronounced tah-neh) are simply so sweet and everything you want in a first love story. 

I would highly recommend The Witch of Salt and Storm to those who love a young adult romance to sink their teeth into and really get hooked on. You will not fail to be surprised at every turn of this well planned out story. I immensely enjoyed it and now impatiently waiting for the sequel.
Rating
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Wednesday, 15 October 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (125)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
I Was Here
Release Date: January 25, 2015
Cody and Meg were inseparable.
Two peas in a pod.
Until . . . they weren’t anymore.

When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, who broke Meg’s heart. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

All I'm seeing is that Gayle Forman has a new book out. I don't need to know what it's about. I'll read it.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 13 October 2014

Authors Who Just Won't Let You Down: Julie Kagawa

Hello there!

Today I'm bringing you a slightly different type of post. You all know how I love to ramble on so I thought why not ramble about awesome authors who churn out book after book and never let you down with the bar it sets each time. I thought this could be a mini-series on the blog to break up the reviews and meme posts with something exciting. Who knows, I might even manage to convince you to go over and check out the author and their books. And if you've already read some of the books by the author, let us all know what you think about both the book and author in the comments.

This week it's all about Julie Kagawa, the badass author of the Iron Fey series and so many more fantasy series that will not fail to blow you away.
The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1)The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)The Iron Queen (The Iron Fey, #3)The Iron Knight (The Iron Fey, #4)
It all started with The Iron King where Kagawa first throws us into this crazy and absolutely wondrous world of the Fey. Readers will find it hard not to love the series' heroine Meghan and the other characters she comes to meet along the way. Before we go on you must all know that Julie Kagawa is tremendously brilliant at writing action scenes and I always feel my heart speed up when I feel a fight breaking out.

The Iron Daughter, The Iron Queen further carries the story through of how Meghan actually plays a very important role in the world of the Fey. However, The Iron Knight is told from the point of view of our extremely hot Ash, Prince of the Unseelie court. Yes! It is one of the best books so if you have not read these books, you've got to! And make sure you get all the way to the last book.

Luckily for the fans who were addicted and couldn't imagine leaving their favourite characters behind when the series finished, Julie Kagawa brought out a spin-off series starring Meghan's brother Ethan. And, believe me y'all, it's good stuff.
The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #1)The Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #2)
There's two books so far. The Lost Prince and The Iron Traitor, and the third book The Forgotten Crown will be released in 2015 so you have plenty of time to catch up before it comes out. I'm not too sure whether this will be the last book in the series, but I also wouldn't mind more. ;)

But Julie Kagawa doesn't just do Fey! SHE DOES VAMPIRES TOO... AND... DRAGONS.

First off her vampire trilogy called Blood of Eden. This is set in a crazy fantasy world where the vampires rule over the humans and use them as slaves. The story is told from the point of view of Allison who is human and lives outside of the walls of the vampire city and eventually gets bitten. She needs a cure and to find the magical cure that has been the subject of many legends, she needs someone, some people, who know how to find it. So when she finds a group she needs to conceal her monstrous side for as long as possible.
The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, #1)The Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden, #2)The Forever Song (Blood of Eden, #3)
The first book is called The Immortal Rules, the sequel is The Eternity Cure and the finale is The Forever Song. In this trilogy, I love how it's a bit darker than the Fey series and we can explore a whole new world that no one is familiar with and there are surprises around every corner. I have yet to read The Forever Song but I know it is going to be AMAZEBALLS. (Don't tell me what happens!)

 As for Julie Kagawa's dragon series, that is called Talon.
Talon (Talon, #1)
I'm so very excited about this new series as it sounds like Firelight by Sophie Jordan, but I know that Julie Kagawa will make the story so different. Talon will be available on October 28th and there are going to be 5 books in the series. WHO'S EXCITED?! 

Have a good week, 
Sam :)

Sunday, 12 October 2014

Jennifer L. Armentrout Book Cover Reveals

Hey,

Now, don't we all love Jennifer L. Armentrout? Author of the bestselling Lux and Covenant series? I sure do. Every now and again (or maybe every few days) I like to stalk JLA on all her social media and on her Goodreads to see how many millions of books that she will have out in the next few months. If you religiously read her books you will know that she has she will have a book being released every month... ish. It's crazy, but at the same time means that we will never run out of amazing stories to read. I adore her imagination and writing style.

ANYWAYS, so I've found some new book covers for her books... well, I think they're new! They may have been around for a long time BUT I'VE JUST SEEN THEM AND I WANT TO SHOW YOU OK! So enjoy.
The Return (Titan, #1)Fall with Me (Wait for You, #4)

The Return is the first book in the Titan series which is the spin-off series to the Covenant series (Half-Blood, Pure, Deity, Apollyon, Sentinel). GAHGAHGAH! Isn't this so freaking exciting, guys? It will be about Seth and I think this is a mature YA/NA, so I think JLA is suggesting sexy times or something so read with caution, but definitely read because it's Seth! 

Fall With Me is a new adult book and I think you would have met at least one of the main characters in the previous book? I've only read Wait For You and that shizz was magnificent! It was nice to read a strictly contemporary book from Armentrout because she does romance so perfectly my heart aches.

Let's not forget that Stone Cold Touch is out this month!
Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements, #2)
YASSSS GUYS YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Who's excited? WHO'S EXCITED? This is the sequel to White Hot Kiss, which is in fact YA. Yes, the covers are intimate, but they are definitely YA, and so worth reading because the story is just... crazy amazing. I promise you.

Have a good week, 
Sam :)

Wednesday, 8 October 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (124)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Reborn (Altered, #3)
Release Date: July 6, 2015
The Branch is in shambles, but Anna, Sam, Cas, and Nick can't rest easy. Remnants of the organization lurk unseen and the flashbacks to their old lives are only getting stronger--especially Nick's.

Following scattered memories and clues from his Branch file, Nick sets off alone in search of answers and in search of the girl who haunts his dreams. But the sleepy town where she lives in full of secrets and Nick soon learns that uncovering their shared past may have deadly consequences.

This is a science fiction book about genetic modification. Both of the previous books Altered and Erased have been action packed and an absolutely excitement to read. Hopefully it will all be rounded off nicely with this book.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D