Wednesday, 26 November 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (131)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Wicked (A Wicked Saga, #1)
Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.


Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.

Jennifer L. Armentrout. Gosh, this lady amazes me! ANOTHER book out this year that I can't wait to get my hands on. And she always gets the most amazing cover models... and covers in general. Ah, looking forward to meeting my next book crush.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 24 November 2014

My review of No Place to Fall

No Place to Fall by Jaye Robin Brown
Release Date: December 9, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


No Place to FallAmber Vaughn is a good girl. She sings solos at church, babysits her nephew after school, and spends every Friday night hanging out at her best friend Devon’s house. It’s only when Amber goes exploring in the woods near her home, singing camp songs with the hikers she meets on the Appalachian Trail, that she feels free—and when the bigger world feels just a little bit more in reach.

When Amber learns about an audition at the North Carolina School of the Arts, she decides that her dream—to sing on bigger stages—could also be her ticket to a new life. Devon’s older (and unavailable) brother, Will, helps Amber prepare for her one chance to try out for the hypercompetitive arts school. But the more time Will and Amber spend together, the more complicated their relationship becomes . . . and Amber starts to wonder if she’s such a good girl, after all.


Then, in an afternoon, the bottom drops out of her family’s world—and Amber is faced with an impossible choice between her promise as an artist and the people she loves. Amber always thought she knew what a good girl would do. But between “right” and “wrong,” there’s a whole world of possibilities.

No Place to Fall is a contemporary book that doesn't follow a storyline that you'll be expecting. This is a book that isn't afraid to delve deep into different themes and issues that is told through the eyes of a selfless girl called Amber and just tries to do her best to keep everyone happy. Her family has many issues regarding money and trust, amongst many others. 

I wasn't too keen on Amber as a narrator as her actions are not justified. I found myself sitting back and thinking, "why on this holy earth would you do THAT?" I simply couldn't relate to her. However I liked how a lot of this novel is the author showing Amber's willingness to help her family and others around her, and I really admired that, but there are always people trying to take advantage of such qualities which spices up the story a bit more.

Also, there is an element of romance in the book, which plays an important role in driving the story, but it didn't really hit home for me. It felt off and not completely right. There was no build up and I couldn't understand why Amber liked the guy that she did, and none of her decisions with him made much sense either.

No Place to Fall is an enjoyable story of self discovery and making the most of the life that you have. I don't think I will revisit the book again any time soon but at the same time I didn't hate it. I didn't like the main character, but the book is still unique and the story worth your time.
Rating
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Thursday, 20 November 2014

Book Blitz and Giveaway: Don't Let Me Fall by Briana Pacheco

Hey,
Welcome to the Book Blitz of Don't Let Me Fall by Briana Pacheco, it is a new adult standalone romance novel that will be perfect for anyone who is a NA contemporary junkie like me. Stay tuned for giveaways for an ebook copy and a signed copy of the book. You can find the book cover and blurb below.
Don't Let Me Fall
Release Date: December 4, 2014
AMAZON
I don’t want to be here.

When you lose the one person that was your whole life, you’ll understand. For me, it was my best friend, Alice. We spent every second of every day together. We planned a life. I was actually living. I was happy.

Now, it’s just gone.

And I’m still here. Lonely. A tatted up body with an empty soul.

Getting inside of my head won’t be pretty. I’m warning you now that you won’t like me. I hate people besides my family. I hate everything around me. I just want to be alone. And I HATE how Logan Mercer doesn’t understand that. He’s everywhere; getting inside of my head, kissing me when he shouldn’t be, messing everything up, and trying to get me to open up. He’s making me crazier than I already am. Why do I need to talk about my life? Why does he even care?

Why doesn’t anyone understand that I don’t want to get attached to people? I don’t want to get fixed.

I want to be alone.

I want to be free.

I want to fly.


My name is Rebeckah Lennox and this is my story…of how I fell.
----------------------------------
Here is a teaser for all of you out there wanting a bit more.
Don't forget to add the book to your TBR list on Goodreads if it interests you! You can enter the giveaway to win an e-book copy of Don't Let Me Fall which is open internationally!
There is also an international giveaway for a signed copy! Enter using the Rafflecopter below.
Good luck to everyone who entered!

Have a good week,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 19 November 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (130)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter, #1)
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court.
She’s the executioner.
As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company.
But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen.
However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?

I'm very excited about this on! I love the sound of the fatal touch but set in a fantasy world. Please give it to me now February 2015!
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 17 November 2014

My review of Stone Cold Touch

Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout 
Release Date: October 21, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements, #2)Every touch has its price

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.


But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay…

The Dark Elements trilogy has been one of my favourite stories from Jennifer L. Armentrout so far. I love the humor that comes with her writing style, her characters, the way she throws curve balls, and the irresistible way she writes romance. How could I not rush to buy this book after having the immense pleasure of reading White Hot Kiss

The story is about gargoyles who are called Wardens and protect humans from evil demons. However, Layla is half demon and half Warden being brought up by a group of Wardens teaching her to hate her demon side, but there is Zayne, the son of the head of this Warden clan, and Layla's had a crush on him ever since she can remember. But after meeting Roth, a dark sexy demon, she realises that she can never be with Zayne. Until she can. Stone Cold Touch focuses more on Zayne and Layla's relationship and they're relationship will literally tear your heart in two because picking between Zayne and Roth is like picking between you want ice cream or cake. They're two great things, but you'd just prefer it if they were together. Yeah... I want Roth and Zayne. 

Aside from the romance, this book is filled with danger and countless numbers of dead bodies! Be prepared for a wild ride as we see more of Layla's powers manifest and change as she learns more about evil beings running free on earth who is a big potential danger to all humans and Wardens alike. There is no moment that you can stop and take a breath because there is so much packed in. You will not regret picking this book up, I assure you.

If you enjoy a quality paranormal romance I would definitely recommend that you look into the Dark Elements trilogy because there is a good balance between the romance and the action and mystery. Plus, Jennifer L. Armentrout is a brilliant writer and I can safely say that I've enjoyed every single one of her books that I've had the pleasure to read so far. 
Rating

Wednesday, 12 November 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (129)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Vendetta
Release Date: January 1, 2015
When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion next door, Sophie Gracewell's life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nic Falcone, Sophie finds herself falling into an underworld governed by powerful families. When Sophie's own family skeletons come to life, she must choose between two warring dynasties - the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break ...

I thought this would be a contemporary judging from the cover but it's actually some crazy paranormal ghost book, right? Have I got this right? Anyhow, it sounds super cute with Romeo and Juliet style romance.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Tuesday, 11 November 2014

Book Spotlight and Giveaway: A Midsummer's Nightmare

Hey,

Summer is over (almost) but I still thought about showcasing a contemporary romance book that stole my heart earlier in the summer. This book is A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger and it is filled with humor and romance and so much more. I'm talking about a quiet summer setting, making new friends, crushing on the hot step brother. I loved it all. 
There's just a time when you need something that will lift your mood and take your mind off... life. This book was it! I've read Shut Out by Kody Keplinger but it was no match for A Midsummer's Nightmare, I assure you all so definitely give this book a chance if you have indeed read Shut Out and rated it a "marmite" book
A Midsummer's Nightmare
Release Date: February 6, 2014

Whitley Johnson's dream summer of shopping, partying and tanning on the beach has just turned into a nightmare. Because Dad didn't tell her he doesn't live by the beach anymore, or that he's no longer a bachelor. He's picked up and moved to a tiny, lame town called Hamilton and gotten himself a fiance. A fiance whose son just happens to be what's-his-name from last week's drunken graduation party one night stand. Just freakin' great.



As if the summer couldn't get worse, Dad seems to forget Whitley's even there. She doesn't fit in with his perfect new country club family, and Whitley does what any kid lucky enough to go all summer unsupervised does: she parties. Hard.

So hard that she doesn't even notice the good things right under her nose: a younger future step-sister who is just about the only person she's ever liked, a best friend (even though Whitley swears she doesn't 'do friends') and a smoking hot, sweet guy who isn't her step brother (yet) and who actually seems to care for her. It will take all three of them to convince her that they're not phoneys, and to get Whitley to get through her anger and begin to put the pieces of her family together.
---------------------------------
I very much enjoyed this book and felt it really brightened up my day with its brilliant characters! You can check out my full review here!
If you're interested in purchasing the book then I've included some links below to help you out:
This giveaway is open to those who live in the UK and my international followers! If you live in the UK you'll get my spare copy (in new condition) and if you are out of the UK I'll send the book to you via The Book Depository. To enter simply fill in the Rafflecopter below:
**Giveaway Closed**
Winner: Maria
Thank you to everyone who entered!
Thanks for entering and good luck!

Have a good week,
Sam