Wednesday, 16 April 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (99)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Take Me On (Pushing the Limits, #4)
Release Date: May 20, 2014
Champion kickboxer Haley swore she'd never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can't stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she'd stay away from. Yet he won't last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it's his fault his family is falling apart. He can't change the past, but maybe he can change Haley's future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they'll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

I'm not gaga for this cover overall, but I am crazy for that gorgeous guy right there. WESTWESTWEST WHY YOU SUCH A HOTTIE HMMMMM?
image
Anyway..... I am looking forward to this so bad because I am crazy in love with Katie McGarry and any story should could ever write. I will read it. NOTHING. And I mean NOTHING can get it my way. If you want some amazing contemporary books check out the rest of her series: Pushing the Limits, Dare You To, Crash Into You

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Tuesday, 15 April 2014

Cover Reveal and Giveaway: Mortal Enchantments

Hey,

Today I am here to reveal the gorgeous cover for MORTAL ENCHANTMENT, releasing on May 20, 2014 from Phoenix Reign Publishing!

Are you ready..............................................
Release Date: May 20, 2014
In Kalin Matthew's world, elementals control the forces of nature. They are divided into four courts: air, woodland, fire, and water. At sixteen she will leave the life she's built with her mortal mother. Kalin will move to Avalon to rule with her father—the elemental king of the air court. Along the way, she's attacked by a fire court assassin and saved by Rowan, a swoon-worthy elemental with a questionable past. 


Worst of all, she learns her father is missing.

To rescue him, Kalin will have to work with a judgmental council and a system of courts too busy accusing each other of deceit to actually be able to help her. But, they aren’t her biggest challenge. With the Midwinter’s Ball only five days away, Kalin must take over her father’s duties, which includes shifting control of the elements—power Kalin has yet to realize.

As Rowan attempts to train her, a war looms between the four courts. If Kalin fails, her father will die and the courts will fall, but the betrayal she’s about to uncover may cost her even more...

----------------------------------------
Gah, I absolutely love the sound of it and the cover is electrifying. I cannot wait for the release as I have already downloaded the prequel: THE SHADOW PRINCE, you can download if NOW for FREE from Amazon and Barnes & Noble!
------------------------------------------------
The Shadow Prince (Mortal Enchantment, #0.5)
Available for FREE on Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Also available in PRINT from Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Every sacrifice has consequences.

Sixteen-year-old Rowan has spent most of his life living among the mortals—learning to control the element of fire, impatiently awaiting the day his vengeful mother, Queen Prisma, will abdicate her throne. When he finally returns to Avalon for his coronation, his mother insists he must first prove his loyalty to the court by completing a secret mission:

Kill Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king.

Willing to do anything to remove his mother from power, he agrees to sacrifice the halfling. He returns to the mortal world with his best friend, Marcus, determined to kill the princess. But as he devises a plan, he starts to question whether or not he's capable of completing such a heinous task. And what price he will pay if he refuses?

There is also a contest running for you to win a $50 Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift card! Enter below.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
---------------------------------------------------------
About the Author: 
Stacey O'Neale lives in Annapolis, Maryland. When she's not writing, she spends her time fangirling over books, blogging, watching fantasy television shows, cheering for the Baltimore Ravens, and hanging out with her husband and daughter.
Her career in publishing started as a blogger-turned-publicist for two successful small publishers. Stacey writes young adult paranormal romance and adult science fiction romance. Her books always include swoon-worthy heroes, snarky heroines, and lots of kissing.
Follow her on Twitter @StaceyONeale, look for her on Facebook, Pinterest, and GoodReads. You can also visit her blog at http://staceyoneale.com/.

Have a great week and good luck,
Sam :D

Monday, 14 April 2014

My review of Cress

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: February 4, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who's only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.


**May contain spoilers for Cinder and Scarlet**
How can I honestly sum up how I'm feeling right now? This book.... IT ENSLAVED ME FOR SIX WHOLE HOURS AND WOULDN'T LET ME PUT IT DOWN BECAUSE OF ALL THE PLOT BOMBS THAT WERE DROPPED. My body and brain can't cope with the scales of epic proportion that this book is breaking. 

Cress is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles after Cinder and Scarlet. This series is the height of YA sci-fi perfection. It involves Cyborgs and Lunar (those that live on the moon) and the ordinary people of the world. So, in the previous books we have established that Queen Levana, who is from Luna, is trying to marry Prince Kai in order to get to the throne and take over the world, yes? 

Well, this book is about Cress. She is a computer hacker and the equivalent of Rapunzel in our world. She has been trapped in a satellite by the Queen to hack and spy on the earth below. All Cress has ever wished for is to be free and find true love. Therefore, when Cinder and her gang, including Scarlet, Wolf, her cyborg, and the irresistibly dreamy Captain Carswell Thorne, make a move to save Cress; she could not be more ecstatic. But with an unlikely twist of events, their rescue mission fails and Cress ends up not leaving her satellite, as it is plummeting towards earth right into the middle of a desert; and she only has Captain as company. 

Hacker. Satellite in the sky. Desert desertion. Oh. My. Gosh. I knew that it could only get better. PLEASE GATHER WE MUST ALL BOW FOR MARISSA MEYER; OUR ROYAL GENIUS. I mean, I thought that Cinder and Scarlet were fantastic and perfect, but Cress has set a whole new level to live up to. The addition of being able to see all the characters from the previous books that we loved, and the new ones just gives it that edge and more lovable feel.

Cress is not like our previous Heroines. Nah, she's not really feisty or particularly badass or ready for a fight. She's more shy and naive and sweet. She's grown up in the confines of a satellite with no one to interact with accept a computer, what can you expect? However, she manages to bring something so pure and beautiful to the book. I felt a connection to her character very fast as she likes to make up little fantasies about what could happen and she's a hopeless romantic. 
“I promise, I will not let you die without being kissed.” 
CAPTAIN CARSWELL THORNE. 
image
He is confident and sassy and charismatic and lovely and protective. I obviously fell for him very quickly. I know, I can't help but love all the boys in this book they are too dreamy and... I want them. But Thorne was so easy to love. He didn't have a hard and brooding exterior, and was more entertaining and warm which simply accelerated the whole fangirl progress. 

As previously mentioned, we get to see our favourite characters! Cinder, Kai, Scarlet and Wolf are all here. The gang. My heart was racing for these characters from the beginning, and I fear of what is to come for them in Winter, but it's really so easy to form attachments to the characters and that's something that not all books can do. That is the beauty of this series, it's so easy to fall into.

There were probably over 101 moments that I swooned over, and probably ten times that figure when we're talking about the number of bombshells dropped. I didn't think a book could hit me so hard or give me so many "OH MA HOLY GOODNESS I NEVER SAW THAT COMING WHATTTTT" moments. Maybe I'm just really naive and don't catch on to foreshadowing too well, BUT THAT MAKES THE "SURPRISES" SO MUCH MORE SURPRISING! I can't tell you how much I cried and laughed through the book. Oh, Marissa, you kill me so.

I wish I could simply gush out all of my emotions at once. However, I fear that you will all be swept by a tsunami full of: "I need Winter", "Why is Captain so perfect?", "Why do I have to wait until 2015?", "Why is this series so addictive?", "Why is this taking over my life?", "Oh my, I love Marissa Meyer so much" and finally: "Shall I fly to America and hunt Meyer down and steal her laptop to read Winter?" But, of course, I shall not be doing that. *Ahem* As the wait is torturous, yet is a way of building up excitement for the book! I cannot wait for the final story. I want to cry. And sob. But I shall wait. (WE SHALL BE REUNITED SOON MY DEAR BOYS: Kai, Wolf, and Captain.)
image
Cress was simply the perfect book to get me out of my reading slump and back loving the printed word again. For all those out there who are not sure on sci-fi, this series will completely change your view of what sci-fi can be about. No, it does not always have to be about aliens. What else can I say apart from the fact that the Lunar Chronicles has now officially become one of my favourite series of all time. So if you love a gripping plot, which is perfectly executed and intricately planned in a futuristic-type world filled with sci-fi and paranormal elements, with fierce and charming characters to lead the way; then honestly, I could not think of a better series to recommend to you.
Rating

Sunday, 13 April 2014

Weekly Favourites (5)

Hey,
For some of you who have been following my blog for a while may know that I was doing a weekly post called "Weekly Favourites" throughout August and the start of September. I'm not going to lie... I completely forgot about it! But I found it through scrolling through some of my old posts and I was like... "OMG WHATTTT IS THISSS?!?!?" Mmmhmm.... So, I am very sorry for my forgetfulness... and hopefully I'll be trying to keep it going and make time for it. I'm stupid. I'm sorry.

This post is all about showing, you know, your favourite things... that week. Favourite cover, favourite book, favourite series, favourite author, anything book-ish I guess. :D

Feel free to join in and leave a link to your post in the comments!
--------------------------------
Favourite Cover:
Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)
Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3) by Leigh Bardugo - June 17, 2014
I love the way it's simplistic, but at the same times it's not. Absolutely love that this is a brilliant and fierce ruby colour it will sit beautifully next to Shadow and Bone and Siege and Storm. Also, I cannon wait to see how it all ends. The ending to S&S left me dead, I swear.
--------------------------------
Favourite Book that I've Read:
Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)
I can't put into actual words how much I am addicted to this book after reading it for six hours straight on Monday. It was simply an amazing installment and the best book yet in the series as we get to meet Cress and see her breakthrough the charismatic exterior of Thorne, but also Cinder, Kai, Wolf and Scarlet. Dayum, can I have Winter? My review will be out tomorrow so check back then!
------------------------------
Favourit Romance:
Boundless (Unearthly, #3)
Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand - January 2, 2013
I finished this book on Tuesday and.. I just can't believe it's over. I read Unearthly in 2011 and it was my first YA book, and it was the book that got me into the genre. And then I waited two years after reading Hallowed to finally read this. OMG. I was not sure at all about Team Christian or Team Tucker... I was so torn. I think I still am. But I'm glad that Cynthia found a way to make it work. I adore the characters and I wish there could be an epilogue epilogue (an epilogue after the epilogue) because I don't want to leave this amazing world of angels. :( My review should be up in the next few weeks.
------------------------------
Favourite Title:
Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)
Perfect Ruin (The Internment Chronicles #1) by Lauren DeStefano - October 3, 2013
Perfect. Ruin. It's a great contradiction. I love it!
------------------------------
Favourite Movie:
Divergent - Shailene Woodley | Theo James - April, 2014
I went to see this movie on Wednesday and I really liked it! The actors portrayed the characters very well. I cannot wait to see what they do with the sequel as I didn't actually like the book as much as the first.

Enjoy your books,
Sam :)

Saturday, 12 April 2014

Book Haul (#80)

Hey,

I hope you're all feeling fresh. CAUSE I AM! I am on fire. I've read so much. BA-BYE YOU STUPID READING FLUNKKKK!
On Wednesday, I also went to see Divergent as it was released in the UK on April 4th, so I'm not too late, am I? In my opinion, I thought it was pretty good. I was extremely disappointed with the romance though; there was not enough development like there was in the book. BUT, Shailene Woodley and Theo James were HELLA CUTE!!

I thought that Theo James was going to be terrible as Four; but he did a good job. Thank God there is going to be a sequel and a third film! If you haven't watched it yet, GO GET YO ASS TO DAH CINEMA NOW!

Anyway, this week I borrowed:
Defy the Stars (Flynn, #4)The Elites
This is the final book in the series. I am not obsessed but the story is interesting enough to make me want to see how it all ends. I reviewed the first book Falling Fast a few years ago.
Natural Born Angel (Immortal City, #2)Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2)
Natural Born Angel (Immortal City #2) by Scott Speer - Borrowed -
I read Immortal City just over a year ago and I liked it but didn't drive me crazy, but you know me.. I can't stay away from an angel book.
Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles #2) by Gena Showalter - Borrowed -
THIS. OH. MY. I have no idea why I didn't try and get my hands on this sooner! I read Alice in Zombieland in 2012 and it's one of my favourite books so... AHHHHHHHHHH. No spoils please, I have a date with Cole.

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/Showcase Sunday/In My Mailbox in the comments so I can check it out!

Enjoy your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 9 April 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (98)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)
Release Date: June 17, 2014
The capital has fallen. The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova's amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling's secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

I. Need. This. NOOOWWWW!
Shadow and Bone and Siege and Storm were absolutely stunning and faultless in every single way! One of the best fantasy, possibly even the best, YA novels out there. Please give me this conclusion now.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 7 April 2014

My review of Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend

Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend (Confessions #2) by Louise Rozett
Release Date: June 25, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend (Confessions, #2)Rose Zarelli has big plans for sophomore year—everything is going to be different. This year, she’s going to be the talented singer with the killer voice, the fabulous girl with the fashionista best friend, the brainiac who refuses to let Jamie Forta jerk her around...

...but if she’s not careful, she’s also going to be the sister who misses the signals, the daughter who can only think about her own pain, the “good girl” who finds herself in mid-scandal again (because no good deed goes unpunished) and possibly worst of all...the almost-girlfriend.


When all else fails, stop looking for love and go find yourself.

Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend is not a lighthearted contemporary like you may be expecting. Instead, it's filled with plenty of mature and completely real issues that some teenagers have to go through. If you enjoyed the first book, Confessions of an Angry Girl, you will love this book even more.

For me, I didn't really like the first book, to be completely honest. I just didn't find the characters or storyline appealing. However, in this sequel, the characters have slightly matured and there is a better plot that I found much more interesting.

Rose's father died over a year ago and she's still learning to cope in his absence. Her brother has gone off to do who knows what, and Jamie, the boy who drove her crazy last year is back on the scene. With his mixed signals, Rose is not sure where she stands in his books. His friend? His girlfriend? No one really knows. But Rose has to become a stronger and wiser version of herself if she wants to get through the year without getting hurt.

One thing that did really annoy me though was Jamie Forta. Now, he is meant to be this incredible guy, but all he did was get on my nerves. Well, at points he was actually sweet and swoon worthy, but his mixed signals towards Rose made me want to punch him in the face. One minute it's: "Rose, I want to be with you!" and the next it's: "Er, sorry babes, I'm not ready for this." 
image
And after the ending that Rozett left us with, I really want to know what happens between Jamie and Rose because I can tell that, if there is going to be another book, things are gonna get pretty intense! Adding on to that: I hope there WILL be another book because despite the few points that really annoy me, I actually want to know how it all ends. I want to see how Rose deals with different situations.

Full of serious teenager drama and romance, Confessions of an Almost-Girlfriend expresses all the anger and frustration that teenagers may go through. Oh the joys of growing up. I can't wait to read more of Rose's story.
Rating
A review copy was provided by Mira INK