Monday, 6 July 2015

My review of A Little Something Different

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
Release Date:
August 26, 2014

Goodreads Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


A Little Something DifferentThe creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship. 

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together....

When I was reading the blurb for this book all I could think was: doesn't this sound so weirdly amazing? I loved the idea of reading a love story that wasn't told from the actual people falling in love's point of view. I ended up reading this in one sitting on the plane from Spain to the UK and I can tell you now that I've never enjoyed a plane journey more! 

So the book is told from 14 points of view ranging from a class mate to a certain moany bench that made me laugh all the way through! It was really interesting to see the signs of people falling for each other from an outsider's perspective. A Little Something Different will make you laugh, smile, and root for two people to get together like you never have done before! This love story of Lea and Gabe was absolutely torturous because you can see their chemistry (the Starbucks' baristas can feel it from all the way across the room) and yet they tiptoe around each other so cautiously. This book will definitely inspire you to embrace your chances at love!

A Little Something Different is short, sweet and the perfect book for you to dip your toes into this summer if you want a contemporary novel that will endlessly make you smile. Yes, I did get frustrated with the main characters because they are both super shy, which didn't really make their romance advance at a very fast pace, but it all adds to the story's charm I guess. I would definitely recommend to try out this book if you want to try a love story with "something different" because I've never read anything like it!
Rating

Wednesday, 1 July 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (160)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Every Last Breath
Release Date: August 1, 2015
Some loves will last ’til your dying breath

Every choice has consequences—but seventeen-year-old Layla faces tougher choices than most. Light or darkness. Wickedly sexy demon prince Roth, or Zayne, the gorgeous, protective Warden she never thought could be hers. Hardest of all, Layla has to decide which side of herself to trust.

Layla has a new problem, too. A Lilin—the deadliest of demons—has been unleashed, wreaking havoc on those around her…including her best friend. To keep Sam from a fate much, much worse than death, Layla must strike a deal with the enemy while saving her city—and her race—from destruction.

Torn between two worlds and two different boys, Layla has no certainties, least of all survival, especially when an old bargain comes back to haunt them all. But sometimes, when secrets are everywhere and the truth seems unknowable, you have to listen to your heart, pick a side—and then fight like hell… 

Jennifer L. Armentrout honestly kills me sometimes, you know? I feel like this trilogy has taken my breath away once again. I always expect to be drawn in more by the idea of the love story than the actual plot line but this story has honestly been able to keep me hooked all round. I love the gargoyles and the demons and it's just AHHHHH! I cannot wait for this book! Definitely leave your thoughts on whether Layla will go with Roth or Zayne because I'm seriously torn.

Previous reviews: White Hot Kiss (#1), Stone Cold Touch (#2)

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 29 June 2015

My review of Because You'll Never Meet Me

Because You'll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
Release Date:
July 2, 2015

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Because You'll Never Meet MeOllie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

Because You'll Never Meet Me is a touching story of two boys who bond over their exceptional conditions that mean they are unable to fit into society. The book is told from two points of view: Ollie and Moritz. Ollie lives deep in the woods, isolated from the modern world of technology because he is allergic to electricity. He can't live a normal life but he tries his best to remain upbeat and optimistic. I really enjoyed his voice in the story because despite having such a sad and life altering condition, he is able to see the bright side in any situation. As for Moritz, he is a little bit older than Ollie and lives in Germany. He was born without eyes and depends on his incredible sense of hearing to get by his daily life. Moritz is quite proper and refuses to try and confront his fears. Both of the boys learn to confide in each other and what it really means to have a friend. 

I was really touched by the letters sent between the boys all through out the book. Aside from the two telling each other their stories and day-to-day lives, we are also presented with the mystery of how on earth Ollie and Moritz ended up with their conditions. I felt that this spurred on the plot and added a interesting twist on the boys' relationship. You'll no doubt want to make it to the very end of the novel in one sitting to see how both Ollie and Mortiz turn out because throughout the book you are really left wondering what can be done to help these two poor souls?

Overall, I would definitely recommend this novel if you're looking for a contemporary that is a bit different and has unique characters that you will get to know better through the form of letters. Some people may not find the characters that gripping or exciting to start off with and occasionally their personal stories may not seem that captivating, but you the two boys really grow on you and before you know it, you're in love with both of them.

Rating

A review copy was provided by the publisher

Sunday, 28 June 2015

Book Haul (#103)

Hey,

I'm back! I hope you guys have all been enjoying the summer weather. I finished my exams and I've had a short holiday to relax so I'm really going to try and get some good posts up because I think I have missed doing this whole blogging business. ;)

This week I borrowed:
Echo BoyI Was Here
Echo Boy by Matt Haig - Borrowed -
This reminds me of that new TV show on Channel 4 called Humans, which is amazing if you haven't started watching it yet! I've heard only good things about the author's writing style so I wanted to give it a go.
I Was Here by Gayle Forman - Borrowed -
I do love Gayle Forman and the way she builds up a story. If I Stay and Where She Went were absolute amazing while Just One Day didn't fall too far behind, but I wasn't too big of a fan of Just One Year. I can't wait to read this purely because I know it's gonna be a good emotional story to pluck at my heart strings.

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday/Stacking the Shelves in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy all your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (159)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Made for You
Release Date: March 25, 2015
Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover an attempt has been made on her life. But who in her sleepy town could have hit her with their car? And why? Before she can consider the question, she finds that she's awoken with a strange new skill: the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her.

While she is recovering from the hit-and-run, Nate, an old friend, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep her friends - and themselves – alive. But the killer is obsessed and will stop at nothing to get to Eva… 

I love a mystery! And I have to say I've missed Melissa Marr. It's been a long time since Wicked Lovely and I did adore those books.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Wednesday, 3 June 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (158)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Dreamstrider
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Livia is a dreamstrider. She can inhabit a subject's body while they are sleeping and, for a short time, move around in their skin. She uses her talent to work as a spy for the Barstadt Empire. But her partner, Brandt, has lately become distant, and when Marez comes to join their team from a neighborhing kingdom, he offers Livia the option of a life she had never dared to imagine. Livia knows of no other dreamstriders who have survived the pull of Nightmare. So only she understands the stakes when a plot against the Empire emerges that threatens to consume both the dreaming world and the waking one with misery and rage.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Wednesday, 27 May 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (157)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road, #1)Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road, #1)
Release Date: May 26, 2015 // June 4, 2015
Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. 

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. 

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

If you're in the US and an avid fan then you should have got this yesterday but those of us in the UK have a little longer to wait. Isn't that just heartbreaking? Katie McGarry is one of my top top favourite authors for contemporary and this book doesn't sound like it's going to disappoint!

I'm really sad about the UK cover (on the right) it just looks so vanilla! *Sigh* I will get over it.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D