Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (127)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Black Moon Draw
Release Date: November 9, 2014
A reader gets sucked into the book she’s reading and is trapped, unless she convinces the hero of the story to send her home. Just her luck - the book is unfinished, and its sexy hero is far more alpha male than she’s prepared to handle. 

What Naia doesn’t know: the story – and its hero – have been expecting her for quite some time, even though she has no idea what she’s doing there. 


Naia must learn quickly how to navigate the dangerous, magical world of Black Moon Draw and find a way to woo the unlikely, uncooperative hero of the story, who holds the key to returning her home.

I love the idea of getting sucked into books... literally! This story sounds brilliant and I can't wait to get my hands on it. A fantasy/paranormal romance is always on my lists of wants.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Tuesday, 28 October 2014

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Hey,

I was nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award by the lovely Constanze from Taraxacum. I've never been nominated for an award before, so thank you Constanze! It's an honor.
Here are the rules:

1. Thank the blogger that nominated you, and link back to their site.
2. Post the award’s logo on your blog.
3. Answer the 10 questions that you have been asked.
4. Nominate 10 other bloggers and ask them 10 questions.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Do you enjoy reading out loud?
Yes, when I'm trying to get into the swing of reading I may start off reading out loud.
What fictional meal would you like to taste?
Probably Ambrosia and Nectar from the Percy Jackson series, it sounds pretty dang good.
Series or standalones?
I like both in their own ways. I like series because you get to prolong your time with the characters, and standalones because, for one, you don't have to wait a whole year to read more of the story, and you get the full arch of a story in one book. 
Who or what inspired you to create your blog?
There were so many bloggers who inspired me to create this blog, like Sam from Realm of Fiction (a brilliant blogger by the way, go and check her out!) And at the time I had so much time on my hands and all I did 24/7 was read and I wanted to write reviews and talk about books, so that's why I decided to start blogging.
What languages do you speak and do you read in all of those languages?
I can speak, read and write Thai. I tried to learn French and Spanish, but I gave up, perhaps I'll revisit them one day.
Does your family read as much as you do?
DEFINITELY NOT! I have a younger brother who doesn't enjoy reading at all and it completely shocks me. I'm trying to encourage him to read though.
What is your favorite book of 2014?
This is so hard of a question. Maybe.... Cress by Marissa Meyer or Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. They were exceptionally amazing.
Do you like Halloween?
I've never really got involved in the past years, but I've been invited to a party and I'm actually really excited about dressing up!
Do you like reading horror stories?
I don't think so... Yeah, that would be a no. I can't get into them and normally I just get scared and can't bring myself leave the safety of my bed to go to the toilet.
What is your favorite local bookshop?
East Grinstead Bookshop, it's so cute and so cosy. If you aren't too far then pop in!
--------------------------------------------------------------
I nominate the following bloggers:
Alyssa at Eater of Books
Aparajita at Le' Grande Codex
--------------------------------------------------------------
And here are the questions:
What has been your favourite series of all time?
If you could have a book turned into a movie, which would it be and why?
What is your most anticipated read of 2015?
What book character have you been able to relate most with?
Twilight, Harry Potter or Percy Jackson?
Where is your favourite place to read?
Do you prefer having your books in pristine condition or worn out (creased spine, folded corners, etc.)?
 Ebook, paperback or hardback?
Best book cover that you've ever come across?
What would you say has been the hardest part of being a blogger?

Thanks Constanze again for nominating me and I hope all of you that I've nominated will also participate! 

Enjoy your day,
Sam :)

My review of Purity

Purity by Jackson Pearce
Release Date: March 6, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

PurityBefore her mother died, Shelby promised three things: listen to her father, love as much as possible, and live without restraint. Those Promises become hard to keep when Shelby's dad joins the committee for the Princess Ball, where girls must take a vow of purity - no "bad behaviour", no breaking the rules, and definitely no sex.

Torn between Promises, Shelby makes a decision - to exploit a loophole and lose her virginity before taking the vow. But somewhere between failed hookup attempts and helping her dad plan the ball, Shelby begins to understand what her mother really meant, what her father really needs, and who really has the right to her purity.


Purity is a contemporary which challenges us to think whether it is important to keep our promises and the loopholes we take to avoid breaking them. Shelby is our protagonist, and she has promised her mother three things: listen to her father, love as much as possible, and live without restraint. Shelby promises to do all those things as how could she refuse a dying woman? As Shelby becomes a teenager, her strained relationship with her father makes it harder and harder for her to keep the promises.

I liked the idea of the book, however I don't think it was as good as I thought it would be. The story line fell a bit flat and I couldn't relate to or understand Shelby no matter how hard I tried. The majority of the book is just Shelby trying to find someone to lose her viriginity to before the "Princess Ball" where she will have to make vows to her father about staying "pure". It simply felt bizarre.
The other characters also felt, to me, a bit one dimensional. I wish each had more depth. The ending is satisfying and will leave you smiling. However, it didn't leave any kind of impact on me like books normally do. I am deeply disappointed  that I didn't love this book as I enjoy Pearce's fairytale retelling series. 

Overall, I wouldn't put Purity on my YA contemporary favourites list as I felt it lacked quite a bit from the plot and characters. I will continue reading Pearce's books even though this book felt like a flop. However, it is a cute contemporary that will occupy you for a few hours if you are simply looking for a light and mildly engaging read.
Rating
A review was provided by the publisher

Monday, 27 October 2014

New Cover Reveal (2)

Hello,

Once again, I have been on a hunt for new covers to show you all for this past week! May I say that some of these are absolutely breathtaking and I can't wait to see physical copies of them around on shelves. To read more about any of the books below simply click the title and that will take you to the Goodreads page.
A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)The Heir (The Selection #4)
The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass - May 5, 2015 -
Crimson BoundThe Cage (The Cage, #1)
Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge - May 5, 2015 -
The Cage (The Cage #1) by Megan Shepherd - May 26, 2015 -
IllusionariumMagonia
Illusionarium by Heather Dixon - May 19, 2015 -
Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley - April 28, 2015 -
The Secrets We KeepBecoming Jinn
The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver - April 28, 2015 -
Becoming Jinn (Becoming Jinn #1) by Lori Goldstein - May 12, 2015 -
Made You UpI Am Her Revenge
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia - May 19, 2015 -
I Am Her Revenge by Meredith Moore - April 7, 2015 -

Don't forget to leave what you think about the covers in the comments!

Have a good week, 
Sam :)

Sunday, 26 October 2014

Book Haul (#94)

Hey,

I hope you have all been brilliant and I'm sorry for not having exciting posts apart from my reviews and WoW weekly posts. I am back at school and drowning in work. Hopefully I will rise above this and put together some exciting posts for you, but exams and revision have to be number 1. So please be patient with me and thank you for all of your support!
The Queen of Zombie HeartsWhisper the Dead (The Lovegrove Legacy, #2)
Thank you, Harlequin UK and Netgalley! I had to request this one immediately as I saw it. I mean, how could I not? I adored Alice in Zombieland and Through the Zombie Glass, so I know that this one will be an amazing ending to the trilogy. AND OH MY GOD. I LOVED IT! Watch out for my review very soon.
Whisper the Dead (The Lovegrove Legacy #2) by Alyxandra Harvey - Received -
Thank you, Bloomsbury Children's Books! I loved the first book and I am a good way into this and I've fallen in love with the characters all over again.
The Sleeper and the Spindle
The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman - Won -
Thank you to Bloomsbury and Goodreads! I was completely unaware that I won this book until it appeared in my postbox in a gorgeous gold package. This is a gorgeous illustrated book and I will be delving into it shortly.

(Leave a link to your Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/Showcase Sunday/In My Mailbox in the comments so I can check it out!

Enjoy all your books,
Sam :)

Friday, 24 October 2014

Blog Tour and Giveaway: The Girl Who Came Back to Life: A Fairytale

Hey,
Welcome to my stop of The Girl Who Came Back to Life blog tour!

Stay tuned for an interview with the author, Craig Staufenberg, and an awesome giveaway that means you have a chance to get your hands on this intriguing book. Check out the cover and blurb below:
The Girl Who Came Back to Life: A Fairytale
Release Date: April 16, 2014
When you die, your spirit wakes in the north, in the City of the Dead. There, you wander the cold until one of your living loved ones finds you, says "Goodbye," and Sends you to the next world. 

After her parents die, 12-year-old Sophie refuses to release their spirits. Instead, she resolves to travel to the City of the Dead to bring her mother and father's spirits back home with her. 

Taking the long pilgrimage north with her gruff & distant grandmother-by train, by foot, by boat; over ruined mountains and plains and oceans-Sophie struggles to return what death stole from her. Yet the journey offers her many hard, unexpected lessons-what to hold on to, when to let go, and who she must truly bring back to life.
-------------------------------------------
It sounds pretty dang cool, doesn't it? 

Now, let's welcome Craig Staufenberg to the post!
How did you get the idea for The Girl Who Came Back to Life?
The idea kicked around in me for the better part of a decade. It began with a novella I wrote back in college, but I never felt the novella was quite the whole story. I felt like there was something larger in there. So every once in a while, over the years, I’d pick up the idea— dust it off, and play with it. See where it went.

After years of this I decided to just make the thing. Put it to bed. So I sat down and started writing, and the whole story came out in a week—and it wasn’t exactly the story I imagined it was going to be. It took about a year after that to go through rounds of revising, beta reading, editing, and putting the actual book together.

But, to clarify, the book didn't come from an idea; it came from a feeling. A small distinction, but an important one.

What is the message of the book?
The book is about love and loss, and how we can live in a world that’s filled with both.

Is there going to be a sequel or is this a standalone novel?
At the moment it’s a standalone novel. The world is much bigger than the corner that Sophie inhabits, and it’s even much bigger than the long path she travels to reach the North. And I have an idea or two I've been kicking around for another story that takes place within that world. But at the moment I have no concrete plans to make another.

What other projects are you working on?
I’ve been getting into script writing the last few months. Mostly TV pilot writing. It’s been an exciting change of pace and format. I’m not opposed to writing more books, and I work all the time, but I can’t say what the next book I release will be, or when it will come out.


Favourite YA book/series?
The His Dark Materials series. I haven’t reread them for a few years, but I love those books. The scope Pullman works with—a massive, cosmic concern seen through the perspective of two kids just trying to get through it all—inspires me.


Sum up your book in 5 words.
Others have called it “beautiful.”
--------------------------------
To find out more about the author you can visit him on his website, Twitter or Facebook.

There is also a giveaway open for either a print or ebook copy of The Girl Who Came Back to Life by Craig Staufenferg. If you live in the US or Canada then you are eligible for a print copy, however if you live internationally you will receive an ebook copy. To enter simply fill out the Rafflecopter below:

Good luck to you all,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (126)

Hey, 

This week I'm waiting for...
Vanishing Girls
Release Date: March 3, 2015
Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late.

This sounds like it's going to contain a lot of feels. And it's Lauren Oliver. So... I'm there.
thank you animated GIF
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D