Wednesday, 22 April 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (152)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...

The Boy Most Likely To
Release Date: June 2015
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:
- find the liquor cabinet blindfolded
- need a liver transplant
- drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:
- well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard. 

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle. 
-----------------------------------------------
I'm completely freaking out over this book! Huntley Fitzpatrick is so freakin' awesome. My Life Next Door has still stuck with me despite reading it over 2 years ago, I need this is my arms ASAP!

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (151)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Daughter of Deep Silence
Release Date: June 2, 2015
In the wake of the deadly devastation of luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace, rescued from the ocean after torturous days adrift with her dying friend Libby, knows that the Persephone wasn’t sunk by a rogue wave as survivors Senator Wells and his son are claiming—it was attacked.

To ensure her safety from the obviously dangerous and very powerful Wells family, Libby’s father helps newly orphaned Frances assume Libby’s identity. Frances has spent years in hiding, transforming herself into Libby, and she can no longer allow the people who murdered her entire family and Libby to get away with it. After years of careful plotting, she’s ready to set her revenge plans into motion—even if it means taking down the boy she’d once been in love with: the senator’s son.

The game has just begun, and Frances is not only playing dirty, she's playing to win. 

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 13 April 2015

My review of Black Ice

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick
Release Date: October 7, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Black IceBrit Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn't prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants;but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there and in uncovering this, she may become the killer's next target.



But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

Black Ice is a thrilling and mysterious story that follows Britt as she battles through a blizzard while being held hostage by two runaway criminals. Talk about awesome, right? I really liked the idea for the book and saw that it was by Becca Fitzpatrick so I was very keen to give it a go as I did enjoy aspects of her Hush, Hush saga. I must admit that my thoughts are mixed about how I feel about this story. On the one hand, I enjoyed the mystery side of the book and how hints were dribbled throughout the story which led to the big reveal. The characters were not particularly amazing and did not really steal my heart, but I did like getting to know them and hearing each of their stories. 

It was hard for me to like Brit as the protagonist of this story as I felt that she was too fast to jump to conclusions and really didn't think things through... completely irrational at times! I did have a soft spot for her relationship with Mason though, it may begin as a hostage, which sounds so weird, but it grows into something real and unbearably cute. The epilogue is still making me laugh. (Supernatural gifs are always allowed here.)
I did enjoy this thriller that Fitzpatrick put together. It isn't the best that I've read, but it did keep me hooked and I enjoyed the twists and small clues dripped in throughout the story so you can figure out the mystery. I'm looking forward to seeing what genre she may tackle next.
Rating
              

Sunday, 12 April 2015

Book Haul (#101)

Happy 101st Book Haul!

These past few weeks I have received:
Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #3)Off the Page
Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone #3) by Laini Taylor - Received -
Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer - Received -
The DUFF
The DUFF by Kody Keplinger - Received -

Leave a link to your Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy your weekend!
Sam

Wednesday, 8 April 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (150)

Hey,


This week I'm waiting for...
Release Date: July 5, 2015
Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When he inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn.…

Sounds like an intriguing concept.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 6 April 2015

Books I'm So Excited For I Can't Even Breathe

Hey!
I hope the title of this post explains it all. There are books that I've stumbled across on Goodreads that I need on my shelf right now because they sounds so absolutely amazing I can't even asdfghjkl.
Some of these books are sequels that I didn't realise now had a cover, a blurb, and a release date right around the corner. 'Cause honestly, after I've finished reading a book with such a jaw-dropping, heart-breaking, tear-jerking ending, I will usually come to realise that the next book won't be out for another year and a half, and by that time I sometimes lose half the hype for reading it because I've forgotten half the storyline. 

But here we are! These are some of the books that have caught by eye for the year of 2015. I probably won't get to them until after my exams, but they're on my mind nonetheless. 
Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)
Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer - November 10, 2015 -
THIS BOOK! LAWRD THIS BOOK. I feel like this book is that apple in my hands; it is the one thing that I need right now. I have adored each book more and more in the series. Cinder was the perfect start, Scarlett was an exquisite follow up, and Cress *oh my* my favourite one yet! It has all the characters from the previous books as well as new ones and their stories are all intertwined and have been leading up to this... WINTER! It will be the best one yet. I know it. There is no doubt in my mind. If you haven't started this series do not fear there is time.
The Stars Never Rise (Untitled Series, #1)
The Stars Never Rise (Untitled Series #1) by Rachel Vincent - June 9, 2015 -
*tut tut tut* Rachel Vincent has managed to dart under my radar ever since I finished reading her stunning Soul Screamers series that ended perfectly with With All My Soul. And in this book, there will be demons, lots of 'em, dark forces and sinning, and hopefully with "Finn, a fugitive with deep green eyes who-" say no more that's all I needed; I'm in love; I'm hooked, but for all of you who need the less important details: "who has already saved her life once and who might just be an exorcist." Do you know who immediately comes to mind? 
(If you don't know who this is, move your butt and start watching Supernatural y'all!) But back to the subject, The Stars Never Rise sounds like a whole lot of good ass kicking and awesome plot-ness, and that cover will look good on a physical copy in my hands ASAP. 
Love Fortunes and Other Disasters
Love Fortunes and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius - May 12, 2015 -
Now doesn't this cover just look good enough to eat? It's so cute I need it! It's about a town that believes in love fortunes which leads to everyone marrying their high school sweethearts. It's a tradition and 100% accurate. But when you're destined to not fall in love at all in a town where true love is everywhere... that's what makes a good ass story! This one sounds unbearably cute some lovable characters and I am all ready to read it.
The Boy Most Likely To
The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick - August 18, 2015 -
Huntley Fitzpatrick has already stolen a piece of my heart with My Life Next Door, and therefore I am excited for any book she may right. I have yet to read What I Thought Was True, but don't you worry it will find a way in to my arms one day soon. This is a sequel to My Life Next Door which just makes me want it that much more. 
If you haven't read it and you adore contemporary then there's not much else I can recommend to you. It is a perfect romance story that I will forever wish I could be the main character in. After all, her name is Samantha, it's not too far off for me to dream. Anyhow, I want this book now.
The Iron Warrior (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #3)
Julie Kagawa is another one of my favourite authors and I have one of the biggest attachments to the Iron Fey series. I've been on this journey for years now and I fall in love with the characters a little bit more with every book. I think this might be the final book but I'm not sure on that. BUT, The Iron Traitor left a big gaping whole in my heart and I know that Julie has planted so many more bombshells in this one. I'm excited. I'm really excited. I'm so excited to see the characters again. I'm just so excitedddddddddddd!
There are tens and hundreds more books that I'm keeping my eye out for and this is simply a snippet of my excitement. I may do these posts in the future but for now you can get glimpses with my weekly Waiting on Wednesday posts. 

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did putting it together! Enjoy your week and the weeks bringing us closer to summer.

Sam ^_^

Wednesday, 1 April 2015

The Duff Movie and Giveaway

Happy April 1st!

If you haven't been living under a rock or cut every tie from the modern world, you will know that The Duff by Kody Keplinger is coming out as a movie... ON APRIL 6TH! Check out the book cover, movie poster and trailer out down below, as well as a giveaway for a goody bag!
This film looks hilarious and I'll be going to see it as soon as I can round up a big enough group of friends because I expect this is not only full of laughs but some tears as well and therefore it cannot be missed. 

The cast look brilliant! We've got Mae Whitman who has been in a bucket full of films including The Perks of Being a Wallflower as Mary Elizabeth, and Robbie Amell who has been doing a great job on The Flash (yes, I love the crap out of that show!) And come on, just look how brilliant they are.
But really if you're going to miss the film, you're missing out on a little bit of this...
To celebrate the release of The Duff movie, I have been provided with a goody bag that includes the movie tie-in of the book and plenty of other cool bits. This giveaway is open to UK and Ireland only. To enter simply fill out the rafflecopter below.

**Giveaway Closed*
Winner: Kim N.
Thank you all for entering!
What's also so good about this film is that the company have teamed up with an anti-bullying charity called Ditch the Label. It is a charity that is trying to overcome labelling in today's society so if you are experiencing any bullying go right over to their website http://www.ditchthelabel.org/ for advice and someone to talk to.
And don't forget to mark your calenders because this film is a must-see for 2015.

Have a good week guys,
Sam :)