Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (121)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Stung
Release Date: February 5, 2015
Sixteen-year-old Kate has a talent for disappearing. Framed for murder, and hunted by a violent gang, she's running for her life . . .

Nathan is the young recruit tasked with finding Kate before her enemies track her down. He's determined to stay detached no matter what. 

But when Nathan and Kate's paths collide, neither is prepared for the electricity that sparks between them.

As the net tightens, can they trust each other long enough to stay alive? Or will their next kiss be their last?

I really like Joss Stirling and her books are right up my street! I always enjoy the plot line and the characters. I suspect this will be the same. I think this is a companion novel to Storm and Stone which is a book set in a boarding school and it is a thriller/mystery with plenty of spies and romance! I cannot wait to see how this one goes.
image
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 15 September 2014

My review of Independent Study

Independent Study by Joelle Charbonneau
Release Date: January 1, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | Book Depository

Independent Study (The Testing, #2)Cia Vale is now seventeen and has everything she ever dreamed of: a boy she loves, a place at the University and a future as one of the leaders of the United Commonwealth. But Cia remembers. Cia must choose whether to stay silent and protect herself and her loved ones, or expose The Testing for what it is.

Following closely after the events of The Testing, Independent Study expands on Cia's time at the University as she finds out more and more about the twisted ways of the school. This installment is a neat and solid stepping stone to lead into the finale of the series as secrets bloom from the dark that will be answered in the last installment.

I'm not a fan of Cia and the way she is portrayed to be the ideal candidate for everything. She seems to have the most potential, be the smartest, know the answer to every situation and every dilemma. It was just all a bit too much when they come across as the all-perfect being. I think that the withheld information about the school and government spurred me on, and also the talk of rebellion added to my interest. 

Despite its similarities to The Hunger Games in the previous book, I do feel like the author tried to branch away from that to make the plot and storyline more unique but also exciting to read.

Independent Study is a good follow-up book to The Testing and maps out a wide picture of the dystopian world that the story is set in. I shall be picking up Graduation Day to see how the author puts the whole story together and brings it to its finale. 
Rating

Wednesday, 10 September 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (120)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
I'll Give You the Sun
Release Date: September 16, 2014
Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. 

GUYSSSSSSSSSSS! JANDY NELSON HAS A NEW BOOOOOOK. 
image
If you haven't read The Sky Is Everywhere then......... go, just go now. I know that this book will be a masterpiece and is going to contain extreme feels. But I'm ready!

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Tuesday, 9 September 2014

Book Spotlight and Giveaway: The Winner's Curse

Hey,

Today I will be showing you one of my favourite debut books so far in 2014 and also offer a spare copy that I own for a giveaway! It is breath-taking, it is exciting, and it is completely addictive. IT'S THE WINNER'S CURSE!
The Winner's Curse (Winner's Trilogy, #1)
Release Date: July 3, 2014
Winning what you want may cost you everything you love.

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction.

Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined. 

-------------------------------------
If you're interested to see what I thought of the book and find out a little bit more about the characters then head over to read my review here!
You NEED to add this book to your TBR list at Goodreads and if you want to buy the book here are some useful links.
This giveaway is open to those who live in the UK. Sorry international followers, there'll be something for you guys soon! To enter simply fill in the Rafflecopter below:
Thanks for entering and good luck!

Have a good week,
Sam 

Monday, 8 September 2014

My review of If You Find Me

If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch
Release Date: March 26, 2014 
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

If You Find MeCarey is keeping a terrible secret. If she tells, it could destroy her future. If she doesn't, will she ever be free?

For almost as long as she can remember, Carey has lived in the heart of the woods with her drug-addicted mother and six-year-old sister, Jenessa.


Their mother routinely disappears for weeks at a time, leaving the girls to cope alone. Survival is Carey's only priority - until strangers arrive and everything changes...

A hard-hitting tale of how quickly and abruptly your life can completely change within a moment. If You Find Me also explores the deep connection between siblings and how keeping a secret as a burden upon your shoulders is not always the best thing to do.

I was so, so touched by the premise of the book and the journey that our two sisters take in finding out about the "real" world and trying to adapt everything they know from their previous life in the woods to fit this world. They have to change their way of thinking, their way of acting, speaking, everything that entails in living your life. The overwhelming feelings of sad emotions would take hold of me every so often as I realised that these girls' childhoods had been robbed from them. They've had to endure things that no children should ever have to endure and that made me see both Carey, the older teenager, and Jenessa, her younger sister, as two very strong girls who would one day fully be able to move their lives in a positive direction.

I'm positive that most will love Carey and Jenessa, and grow to love them even more when they tag along for the journey that the two girls will have to take to fit into society and overcome the memories of the woods. 

If You Find Me is a powerful book that will definitely stay with me for a long time because of not only its characters and plot, but also the strong messages that it shares about family, learning to trust others, and always moving forward in your life. This is a book that I would highly recommend if you're looking for something hard-hitting which deals with slightly more mature themes that you wouldn't expect could be handled so well in a YA book. 
Rating

Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (119)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
What If
Release Date: September 16, 2014
What if you had a second chance to meet someone for the first time?

Cal Logan is shocked to see Nicole Bentley sitting across from him at a coffee shop thousands of miles from their hometown. After all, no one has seen or heard from her since they graduated over a year ago.

Except this girl isn't Nicole.

She looks exactly like Cal's shy childhood crush, but her name is Nyelle Preston and she has no idea who he is. This girl is impulsive and daring, her passion for life infectious. The complete opposite of Nicole. Cal finds himself utterly fascinated-and falling hard. But Nyelle is also extremely secretive. And the closer he comes to finding out what she's hiding, the less he wants to know.

When the secrets from the past and present collide, one thing becomes clear: Nothing is what it seems.

The blurb has just won me over completely! I need to read this and find out what happens!! It sounds like a brilliant contemporary novel and apparently Rebecca Donovan is a note-worthy author. 
(This man looks kinda creepy.)
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 1 September 2014

My review of Storm and Stone

Storm and Stone by Joss Stirling
Release Date: February 6, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Storm and StoneBehind the ivy-clad walls of an exclusive boarding school, lurks a sinister web of corruption, scandal, and conspiracy. American student Raven Stone has noticed something is horribly wrong. First there were the unexplained disappearances. Then there were the teachers' lies. And now the death threats ...Also entangled in the disturbing turn of events is the enigmatic Kieran Storm - a fellow student with a killer intellect and a body to die for. He's heading for trouble and taking her with him. Raven can feel herself falling in love, but can she trust a boy she knows almost nothing about?

After reading Stirling's Benedict series, I knew that I could not stay away from this story for very long. Storm and Stone is set in a mysterious boarding school where students disappear for a few weeks and come back as changed individuals. Kieran and Joe are spies that have been sent to see what's going on and get the job done as soon as possible. But Kieran befriends Raven and he not only wants to help her as she gets bullied, he wants the chance to fall in love. Oh, stop my beating heart.
image
The story is told from both Kieran and Raven's POVs, which gives you a nice 360 degree understanding of the whole story. Like Kieran's past, his actual mission and his deeper thoughts, while we see Raven's background and discover why she gets bullied. But also, we witness them both falling for each other which is honestly the cutest thing I've read in a while.

Don't expect this book to be a light contemporary romance with lots of batting eyelashes and air kisses. This book gets down to what you want! There is plenty of action scenes that kick in to spice everything up when you least expect it, along with the spies-looking-for-clues scenes filled with tension. I love Joss Stirling so much and this book had a great premise to draw my attention. i can't wait for even more from this author!
Rating