Friday, 25 July 2014

Blogging Crisis and What Am I Reading?

Hey there my fellow chums,

I was scrolling through my posts (as I do when I need some inspiration) and noticed that I don't post that much. I compared my posts during months from when I first started blogging to now and I feel disgusted. Most of the reason is due to my busy schoolwork schedule that is gradually becoming more hectic, but part of the reason is down to laziness. I have so many ideas for posts, so many blogs I want to stalk, so many readers I want to interact with... but I feel like I've lost my spark. 

I started this blog because I genuinely loved books with all my heart and I loved the idea of sharing my reviews and getting to know others with the same passion. Obviously I still love books, but that extra spark I once had has dimmed. Has it completely gone? I don't think so. Perhaps I'm just not cut out for blogging but I will keep going because I actually really enjoy it once I get into the routine. All I can is a gigantic sorry for being a lazy bug and hardly posting anything interesting, while also offering a big thank you to you all for being so supportive and amazing and everything because it has really opened my eyes that I need to try harder, do more, EXPRESS MY FEELLLLS FOR BOOOOOKS! You will be washed away by all my feels.
Now that mini crisis is over. I thought it'd be cool to share with you guys what I'm reading right now, what I think about them, etc. 
Before You (Before & After, #1)
Before You (Before and After #1) by Amber Hart - July 29, 2014
I requested this from Netgalley because it just sounded like a really nice YA contemporary read. It's hard to make contemporaries stand out nowadays because it seems like all the unique concepts have been done (but some authors will find ways, I'm sure.) Now this book follows in the well-known "bad-boy" style. Actually, I'd compare this very closely with Perfect Chemistry. The only redeeming qualities so far have been the supporting characters and the main character's pastor father. I'm really liking it so far but it's not entirely unique and the concept will seem like dave ja vu if you've read Perfect Chemistry. But I've heard there are some twists in this one to come so I'll be looking out for them. 

If you want to see my updates on the books I'm reading regularly then you can friend me on Goodreads.

Have a good weekend,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 23 July 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (113)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien's only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan's Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. 

Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King's Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan's biggest threat - and his own toughest enemy. 

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? 

THESE BOOKS ARE SO AMAZING; I CAN'T DEAL! One of the best fantasy series I've ever read (and I've only read two of the books in the six books series.) Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight  were brilliant and I am desperate for this book. I just want it. On my shelf. In my hands. HERE NOW!
image
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 21 July 2014

My review of Little White Lies

Little White Lies by Katie Dale
Release Date: August 1, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Little White LiesThe first time Lou meets tall, dark, and handsome Christian, she knows he's hiding something. Why does he clam up every time she asks about his past? Why doesn't he have any family photos and why does he dye his blond hair black? 

Then suddenly his terrible secret is unveiled to the world - and it seems everything he's ever told Lou is a lie. Can what the media are saying about him really be true? Should Lou trust him? Or is she in terrible danger? But Christian isn't the only one keeping secrets. For what if their chance meeting was no accident at all ...? 


As lie follows lie, nothing is as it seems, and soon Lou finds herself ensnared in a web of deceit, her loyalties torn, her emotions in tatters as she faces a heart-wrenching dilemma: should she shatter the lives of those she holds dearest, or betray the guy who, against all odds, she's fallen in love with?

Little White Lies is a mystery-thriller that you will not be able to put down to the very end. The storyline is gripping and mysterious. It is a book that will keep you guessing. If you're looking to step away from the fluffy romance contemporaries, pick this up; for you will not regret it!

This story is about Lou. She's having a normal life in university until Christian turns up; but he's not like everyone else. He acts suspiciously and everyone knows he's hiding a big secret which he continues to cover up with lies. Piece by piece, the truth is uncovered and Christian is definitely not who anyone expecting...
image
Dale has done extremely well delivering a stunning second novel which provides everything and more than what you could ask for from a YA contemporary thriller/mystery. It ticks all the major boxes for me and Dale's writing style is the icing on the cake! 

I enjoyed the characters very much indeed. Lou is extremely interesting and the way she thinks is intriguing to follow. However, sometimes I felt like I needed to slap her round the head and get some sense into her because she's quite confused and naive at times, but the information about her life is slowly revealed to us to keep us on our toes.

Don't brush Little White Lies to the side, definitely give it a go. It is one of a kind with a storyline that will not let you go. There is a romance side, but mainly it focuses on mystery and crime. Perfection.
Rating

Wednesday, 16 July 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (112)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...

Trial by Fire (The Worldwalker Trilogy, #1)
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted...which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily's life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem - one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily's identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.

Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn't understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can't hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.

But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy?

I am a loyal fan of Josephine Angelini after her amazing Starcrossed trilogy (Starcrossed, Dreamless, Goddess) and I'm anxious to see what she can pull out of the bag now!!

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 14 July 2014

My review of Defy the Stars

Defy the Stars (Flynn #4) by Sophie McKenzie
Release Date: January 2, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Defy the Stars (Flynn, #4)After months apart, everyone thinks that River is successfully building a future without Flynn. Indeed, she has almost convinced herself that she is moving on. And then, one day, Flynn is back, bringing with him tales of his glamorous new life. River suspects his lucrative new work involves some form of criminal activity, but will she let herself be drawn back into Flynn's world? Or is this, finally, the end of the line for them both?

Defy the Stars is the fourth and final book in the contemporary series Flynn set over the course of over two years. It follows a girl named River who meets her first love Flynn. And their romantic relationship does not follow a steady course. After many bumps in the road, we finally witness whether their fierce and burning love was really meant to last.

This is not a contemporary series that I would rave about because I'm not particularly obsessed with the storyline. However, I have enjoyed what the books have had to offer and how the characters have wonderfully developed over the course of the four books.

River isn't the best protagonist and her decisions are not always great; but she is tolerable.  In the first book, Falling Fast, she seems so young compared to how she is in this book. She's grown and matured and the way she narrates the story is not too bad either. As for Flynn, he's now got a hold of his anger and temper issues and is attempting to make something of himself. I couldn't help but cheer their relationship on to the very end of the book.

The ending may not be what we are exactly expecting, but it's a great twist that will surprise you and bring you to tears! I really liked how the author rounded the story off, and I would recommend this series to anyone wanting a contemporary series that is short, sweet, and compelling while dealing with some difficult and daring issues.
Rating

Wednesday, 9 July 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (111)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)
Release Date: November 4, 2014
Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

I haven't read anything from Claudia Gray since her Evernight series and I really like the sound of this. I am familiar with her writing style and I know that I will immensely enjoy this.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 7 July 2014

Just Couldn't Put It Down Giveaway Hop

Hey,

Welcome to the Just Couldn't Put It Down Giveaway Hop hosted by Valerie at Stuck In Books.
For this giveaway, there will be one winner who may pick a book from below. This is international.
The Winner's Curse (Winner's Trilogy, #1)Wait for You (Wait for You, #1)
Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)
**GIVEAWAY CLOSED**

Winner: Orla P.
Congratulations! Reply to my email ASAP.
Thank you to everyone who entered!!
Thanks for visiting,
Sam :)