Tuesday, 3 April 2012

My review of Falling Fast

Falling Fast (Flynn #1) by Sophie McKenzie 
Release Date: March 1st, 2012

An unexpectedly fun story.

Falling FastWhen River auditions for a part in an interschool performance of Romeo and Juliet, she finds herself smitten by Flynn, the boy playing Romeo. But Flynn comes from a damaged family—is he even capable of giving River what she wants? The path of true love never did run smooth . . .

This is real life, not a rehearsal..
Falling Fast is a very surprising story that you wouldn't expect from a book with such a cute cover. When I picked this up I thought that it would be a light and fluffy read, I never thought that it would carry such hard-hitting situations. Sophie McKenzie has delivered a book that will make you grateful for what you have.

Falling Fast isn't a book about Romeo and Juliet meeting in a romantic place, it's a book which deals with an issue that many can relate to; money. The main characters, River and Flynn, couldn't be more different. River has a nice home and everything she needs. Flynn lives in a small apartment with his mother and two sisters, he takes any work he can get so he can help with food costs.  Flynn has had a tough life and that definitely reflects in his personality. Even though he is meant to be the Romeo of the story he has a lot of imperfections. He has an extremely bad temper, but, when he is nice, he is very nice. He can be very sweet at times and you will fall in love with that side of him

The story is told from the point of view of River. She is a very paranoid sixteen-year-old. I didn't particularly like her while I was reading the book; she is incredibly winy and very nosy. She isn't considerate and I don't think she really cares about how other people feel. For me, it felt like she didn't care about anything apart from finding her 'true' love.

I might not have liked some elements of the story, but I found the overall experience of the book very enjoyable. It was definitely a surprise when I discovered what Flynn was really like. There are also some scenes in this book that I didn't really feel like they needed to happen. And by this I mean the arguments that keep occurring through out the book between Flynn and River. 

Overall, Falling Fast is a very interesting book that everyone should try out. I think that Sophie McKenzie is a brave author for taking on such a serious issue. Fans of Romeo and Juliet with a twist will enjoy this addition to the young-adult genre. I can't wait to read the next books in this series.
Rating

6 comments:

  1. Thanks for this review. I'm not sure if I'll pick this one up, mainly because I really don't like whiny characters and I have a hard time looking past characters I don't like. The cover is super cute though, which may be misleading based on this review.

    ReplyDelete
  2. AWESOME REVIEW!! I'm so adding this book to my TBR pile ,,, it sound so interesting :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Christina Kit.4 April 2012 at 03:44

    I loved theater and school plays so that fact that they're brought together for a play is awesome!

    I love how complicated the characters sound:)

    Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This book sounds really good! Thanks for the great review! It is being added to my TBR pile. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I picked up this book a few days ago and like you thought it was going be a nive fluffly romantic book however from your review we where both wrong LOL. I think I might give this a try next!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds interesting. This is the first I have heard of it, and I am glad that I heard about it now. I am really, finally starting to get into contemporary so I will give this one a chance now. I might not have before. Thanks for the great review. Hopefully, I will get to check Falling Fast out soon.

    ReplyDelete

I am very greatful for all comments posted! :D