Monday, 31 March 2014

My review of White Hot Kiss

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Release Date: March 1, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)One kiss could be the last. 

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses. 

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever. 

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul. 

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

White Hot Kiss is a young adult novel. Yes, a young adult; not a new adult as some may be coming to the coming to the conclusion of from seeing the cover. Like all of Armentrout's novels, this is worth every penny that you could pay as it is simply enthralling and absolutely captivating from beginning to end.

First off, can I just say that this book is the most perfect blend of gargoyles, demons, romance and humor. Layla is our protagonist who is a half demon and half Warden (a race of gargoyles who rid of demons to keep humans safe); and she is brought up by the Wardens to hate and ignore her demon side. The only person she can have a normal relationship with is Zayne, a Warden who she has had a crush on since as far as she can remember. But when Roth walks into her life with his edgy tattoos and promises of not only secret piercings (wink, wink), but also promises of revealing who she really is; Layla can't resist.. Even if he's a demon.

I don't know how to sum up my feelings because right now my heart is just "ASDFGHJKL:"ing all over the place from the absolutely charming characters and to die for plot. Where do I even start? Layla was great. She has a strong and confident voice. At times she may seem weak, but when someone she loves is in danger, get ready to feel the impact of her feisty and protective personality.

You know what my big issue is? DO YOU KNOW THE CAUSE OF MY PROBLEM? IT'S BECAUSE ARMENTROUT MAKES HER MALE CHARACTERS SO DAMN PERFECT I'M ALWAYS TORN BETWEEN THEM. Please, stop tearing my heart in two like this. Please. Zayne, he is sweet and has known Layla since forever. He is protective and I love how he tries to ignore his feelings. 

On the other hand, Roth is just a sexy beast. Yes, I said that. He was charming and funny and amazing and lovely. Could you just become mine please, you fine piece of male specimen? From the moment he walked into the book I was hooked on his badass charm, and when he opens up and shows a sweet and soft heart, that you are definitely not expecting from a demon, I couldn't help but fall even harder for him. Roth has many secrets that are revealed throughout the book and this just added to me not being able to put the book down. The whole time I was thinking, "NO. I'M NOT PUTTING THIS DOWN UNTIL I GET MORE ROTH. I DON'T CARE THAT IT'S TWO IN THE MORNING."
White Hot Kiss may be my favourite Jennifer Armentrout book up to date as the characters and plot were simply irresistible. And maybe it's because Roth... and the idea of gargoyles that contributed to making it fabulous. I don't know. No one can go on with reading YA if they haven't given Jennifer L. Armentrout a try as she and her books are fantastic in every single way. If you are desperately searching for a paranormal romance book that is full of humor, will grip your attention and leave you obsessed in the best way possible, read White Hot Kiss; actually just read anything by JLA. She's the bomb.


A review copy was provided by the publisher

Wednesday, 26 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (96)


This week I'm waiting for...
The Forever Song (Blood of Eden, #3)
Release Date: April 15, 2014

Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster? 

With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer. 


Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions—her creator, Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost—the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie. 

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, triumph is short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.

Julie Kagawa is so amazing. I just can't find anything to fault her on. I need this book! Blood of Eden, though not as good as The Immortal Rules, has set the story up to be absolutely explosive in this conclusion. That cover is simple, yet absolutely stunning. 

What else can I say? ZEKE. I love you.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 24 March 2014

My review of Into the Still Blue

Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3) by Veronica Rossi
Release Date:
February 6, 2014

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky, #3)The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do--and they are just as determined to stay together.

Within the confines of a cave they're using as a makeshift refuge, they struggle to reconcile their people, Dwellers and Outsiders, who are united only in their hatred of their desperate situation. Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. Then Roar arrives in a grief-stricken fury, endangering all with his need for revenge.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble an unlikely team for an impossible rescue mission. Cinder isn't just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival--he's also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.

Under the Never Sky is one of the strongest YA dystopian series out there. I simply can't describe how much I've enjoyed the journey along side Perry, Aria and Roar. They are all kickass characters who have made a home in my heart. Rossi's writing style draws you from the start and you won't be able to turn away from her book; especially this conclusion Into the Still Blue, which will take your breath away and transport you into a stunningly imagined world that you can easily immerse yourself in.

For me, one the highlights of this trilogy are the characters. Aria and Perry as our narrators; getting to explore their thoughts, feelings and the world though their perspective. Aria is strong and bold and confident and great and... Can I just possess her qualities please? And let's not get me started on Perry.
Sweet, lovely, kind, caring, courageous, noble. Damn, Rossi made her characters so perfect and likable!! I also loved reading how they slowly and deeply fell in love in a torn and damaged world; it was just beautiful and I couldn't get enough of the two. They are simply too cute to not swoon over. 

And of course we cannot forget about Roar! In this book, he has extreme emotional issues that he must tackle within himself as the result of the events in the previous book Through the Ever Night. Despite his mood swings at times, we don't ever stop loving or caring for him. He is a wonderful character who filled the trilogy with sparks of humor. I honestly could not imagine the story without his charming presence.

Into the Still Blue is the conclusion of how Perry will get his tribe into the Still Blue; as the title hints. It is simply the only option as the world they are in now rages with aether storms that threatens them all. However, with the enemy led by Hess and Sable are in the way, the tribe must find a way to get past the enemy's high tech equipment and venture into the Still Blue before the aether storm hints their cave.

This installment was simply perfection (actually the whole series was perfection.) It started with a BANG! BOOM! (and whatever other sound effects you may wish to add) and it did not lose steam, or my interest, along the way. I strongly, strongly, strongly urge you to go and check this beautifully written trilogy out if you are not aware of its complete awesomeness as they are completely worth it. The dystopian mixed with supernatural elements, while also supported with a sweet and addictive romance plot will not disappoint. I'm very excited to see what Rossi can deliver next.
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Sunday, 23 March 2014

Book Haul (#78)


How are you all? I have taken a bit away from blogging and was surprised that I missed the release of so many good books. What are you all reading lately? Please tell me, I wanna know.
Also, funny story. I went on the free trial for Audible in January to try out one of their books, but I didn't realise that they automatically signed you up for the monthly membership afterwards... and I just noticed that they've been charging me £7.99 for the last few months. Oopsy. But I had a few credits and I used them before I ended my membership and managed to get two books that I've been dying to read... well, I mean listen to as they're audio books.

This week I received and bought:
White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements, #1)Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy, #2)
White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout - Received -
Thank you, Harlequin Teen UK! I saw that this was on Netgalley for UK bloggers and I fangirled for a long time. I'm a few chapters in and I am hooked. I love the idea of gargoyles and the demons. GAH! 
Of Triton (Of Poseidon #2) by Anna Banks - Bought - Audible
It has been over a year since I read Of Poseidon and I am dying for this. DYINGGGG! I need more Galen. And notice how the two covers above are super cute together??
Let the Sky Fall (Let the Sky Fall, #1)Otherbound
Let the Sky Fall (Sky Fall #1) by Shannon Messenger - Bought - Audible
Gah, it feels like this book hasn't been out long but it's been out since the start of 2013 and I only just got my hands on it. I love the cover and the sound of the book. I can't wait to dive in to this storm.
Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis - Received -
Thank you, Abram and Chronicles! This sounds like a completely awesome book. The concept is unique and something that I have never come across before. This one will be out in June, guys!
Wait for You (Wait for You, #1)
Wait For You (Wait For You #1) by J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout - Bought -
I saw this in The Works (a cheap and brilliant bookstore in the UK) and could not resist picking it up as it is by JLA. I'm just sad because I couldn't get the gorgeous and romantic US edition *sigh*. Nevertheless, I'm dying to read this.

Leave a link to you Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy your books,
Sam :D

Thursday, 20 March 2014

My review of A Million Little Snowflakes

A Million Little Snowflakes by Logan Byrne
Release Date: September 14, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon

A Million Little SnowflakesOliver Hurst has always been abnormally normal.

His grades are horrible, his best friend just left for Utah, and he's depressed. His overly religious parents don’t help, especially since they control every facet of his life. One stupid sentence said in desperation gets Oliver tossed in an adolescent psych ward, where his depression and fears become even more of a reality.

When Oliver meets snide, tough girl Lacey Waters he doesn't think his life could get any better, that is, until she becomes the ray of sunshine he has desperately needed on his cloudiest of days.

A Million Little Snowflakes is a novel that deals with the teenage depression and how, occasionally, it is dealt with. The issues are hard to come to terms with, but I found the narrator of the story quite humorous at times and really lightened the book when needed. This novel is great for someone who wants a YA contemporary that not only deals with difficult issues but is also narrated from a male point-of-view.

Oliver's religious parents put him into a psychotic ward after he makes a joke about committing suicide. It completely spins out of control, and no matter how much he tries to tell them he didn't mean it, they simply don't listen. In the ward, he makes friends and learns how to make relationships, especially with Lacey who seems to be the only one he can talk to when no one else will listen to what he really has to say.

I liked Oliver's tone. He was blunt and it is evident that he isn't completely okay and is depressed, but it just made the humor shine through a bit more. Some may find him hard to like, but for me he was great to read about. On the other hand, I absolutely loathed Oliver's mother who was narrow minded and annoyed me to no end. Could someone please just stick tape over her mouth and make her stop? 

On the most part, I did like the plot and what it had to offer. It had romance and a narrator with a clear and interesting voice. A Million Little Snowflakes didn't blow me away, but perhaps it's worth giving a go if you are looking for a YA contemporary told from a male's POV and manages with difficult issues.
A review copy was provided by the author

Wednesday, 19 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (95)


This week I'm waiting for...
Sacrifice (Elemental, #5)
Release Date: September 30, 2014
One misstep and they lose it all. For the last time.

Michael Merrick is used to pressure. 

He’s the only parent his three brothers have had for years. His power to control Earth could kill someone if he miscalculates. Now an Elemental Guide has it out for his family, and he’s all that stands in the way. 

His girlfriend, Hannah, gets that. She’s got a kid of her own, and a job as a firefighter that could end her life without a moment’s notice. 

But there are people who have had enough of Michael’s defiance, his family’s “bad luck.” Before he knows it, Michael’s enemies have turned into the Merricks’ enemies, and they’re armed for war. 

They’re not interested in surrender. But Michael isn’t the white flag type anyway. There will be blood on the ground tonight…

I think my heart died a little bit.
Michael is beautiful. And I'm completely ready for his story!! Despite not having read Spirit or Secret... Okay, so I'm not exactly ready, but I WILL BE! Dayummm, I adore these boys, they're absolutely irresistible. Kemmerer won't dissappoint with this conclusion to the series! 100% sure.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 17 March 2014

My review of Things I Can't Forget

Things I Can't Forget (Hundred Oaks #3) by Miranda Kenneally
Release Date: March 1, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Things I Can't Forget (Hundred Oaks, #3)Kate has always been the good girl. Too good, according to some people at school—although they have no idea the guilty secret she carries. But this summer, everything is different…

This summer she’s a counselor at Cumberland Creek summer camp, and she wants to put the past behind her. This summer Matt is back as a counselor too. He’s the first guy she ever kissed, and he’s gone from a geeky songwriter who loved The Hardy Boys to a buff lifeguard who loves to flirt--with her.

Kate used to think the world was black and white, right and wrong. Turns out, life isn’t that easy…

Things I Can't Forget is a companion novel to Catching Jordan and Stealing Parker,  and the third book in the Hundred Oaks series. I've loved this series from book one, I adore every one of the characters that have been introduced so far in this wonderful contemporary journey and I want to praise Kenneally for ability to tackle different difficult issues. In this case: religion.

Kate is a Christian and obeys the rules, and this summer is not going to be any different. When she goes back to Cumberland Creek camp as a counselor, she doesn't think that there's anything that could take her guilt collected over the previous months away, until she realises that Matt is back. Matt was her first kiss years ago. But he's different now and puberty has done him good. Kate finds herself fighting against her desires and her faith towards God.

I liked the story line, the majority of characters and the amazing setting of Cumberland Creek that offered so much to explore. I liked that we get to see both Jordan and Parker along with their boyfriends Sam and Will, and how they are intertwined into the plot.

I had a bit of an issue with Kate. I don't mind reading books with religion, I just find it hard to connect and relate to that character, and I know that this is an issue for some other as well. Nevertheless, she was sweet and her wit complimented Matt's charm. *Dreamy sigh*
He was adorable and sweet and innocent and lovely. He made me laugh, smile and gave me just as many butterflies as he gave Kate. It's impossible not to like him.

Overall, Things I Can't Forget is a great and solid novel that compliments and is a brilliant addition to the heart-warming Hundred Oaks series. If you're looking for a set of good contemporary novels with lovable characters and tricky plot situations, pick up this series.

Wednesday, 12 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (94)


This week I'm waiting for...
City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)
Release Date: May 27, 2014
Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance? Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last installment of the Mortal Instruments series!

Hmmm... Not really bothered about how late I read this as there has already been a 2 year wait so.. Meh. 
It does have an interesting cover, but I just feel like the story has been stretched out too long. Nevertheless, looking forward to a good ending.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 10 March 2014

My review of Origin

Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Release Date: August 27, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Origin (Lux, #4)Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything. 

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? 

And will they even be together

**Contains spoilers for previous books** 
Origin is the fourth stunning novel in the irresistible Lux series. How is it possible that Armentrout is able to deliver even more action, humor and romance? Each additional book that she writes never fails to shock me and leave me wanting more.

Katy has been taken by Daedalus and Daemon fears that they are doing to her what they did to Bethany. He must save her at any cost. While Katy is trapped, she learns so much more about Daedalus; what they do and why they do it, but she also learns about the outside threats that the Luxen community is unaware of. They need each other now more than ever.

Has anyone ever said that they hate Katy and Daemon's relationship? Exactly. No is the answer. And it is no different in this book, in fact you could say that the romance is even better. I am sent into a fit of giggles and I can't stop smiling when these two are together; they are simply perfect.

I must say, Katy has lost a bit of her spark and independence that she once had in Obsidian, but nevertheless, I love her all the same. And Daemon? He is just there being the most perfect guy you could wish to read about. Okay, he messes up sometimes, but we can overlook that.
I LOVVVEEEDDDD the characters; new and old and everything in between! We get to see more of Luc and his gang, while also meeting a few more like Archer. Archer is a very special addition to the book and I found him quite likable from the beginning. His part in the book is one that I will not share with you as it is top secret stuff so get reading. ;)

The action and plot twists were limitless. That is all that I am able to say.

Origin was simply perfect and everything that I wished for and more. I'm crazy and desperate waiting for Opposition, but at the same time I am dreading it as I cannot believe that this is the last book. For all of those naughty ones out there who haven't read this series, GO! JUST GO! This is the perfect blend of sci-fi, supernatural and romance. Honestly, I could not recommend this enough.

Sunday, 9 March 2014

Book Haul (#77)


Hope you're all well my dear friends. And I hope you're all on course with your reading and discovering many amazing books that have become your favourites? I don't think I've picked up a book in a week... Someone hit me over the head please. I'm so behind!

Anyways, isn't it exciting that we have about a month until the Divergent movie? AHHHH.
This week I borrowed:
I have heard a lot of good things about this author, especially about her book Eleanor and Park... which I still haven't read yet??? I know, I'm sorry. I've heard and seen it around on so many blogs, but this is the only one available in the library. Nevertheless, looking forward to diving into it.

Leave a link to you Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 5 March 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (93)


This week I'm waiting for...
Sisters' Fate (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #3)
Release Date: August 14, 2014
A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can’t help without revealing their powers—as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England. 

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she’s torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she’s certain she can never forgive Maura’s betrayal. And now that Tess’s visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fulfillment.

I haven't read many books about witches lately and I really enjoy this trilogy as the writing is superb and I adore the characters. I haven't actually read the second book yet... Don't worry! I haven't read the blurb for this though. ;) I cannot wait to check this out though. 
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 3 March 2014

My review of A Midsummer's Nightmare

A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger
Release Date: February 6, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

A Midsummer's NightmareWhitley Johnson's dream summer with her divorcé dad has turned into a nightmare. She's just met his new fiancée and her kids. The fiancée's son? Whitley's one-night stand from graduation night. Just freakin' great.

Worse, she totally doesn't fit in with her dad's perfect new country-club family. So Whitley acts out. She parties. Hard. So hard she doesn't even notice the good things right under her nose: a sweet little future stepsister who is just about the only person she's ever liked, a best friend (even though Whitley swears she doesn't "do" friends), and a smoking-hot guy who isn't her least, not yet. It will take all three of them to help Whitley get through her anger and begin to put the pieces of her family together.

A Midsummer's Nightmare is an unavoidable contemporary romance that you will not be able to put down until the very end as it grabs your attention from the first page through the author's humorous writing style. I've heard plenty of great things about Kody Keplinger's books but I wasn't sure about this one, and that is why I'm so shocked... I fell so fast for it! 

Keplinger opens with a painfully awkward scene, yet so absolutely hilarious you won't be able to stop yourself laughing. Whitley wakes up from a drunken one night stand, and just as she tries to sneak away quietly, he wakes up and asks for her number. She turns him down extremely bluntly as she knows she'll never see him again anyway as they are both off to college. But her dad, who she only sees in the summer, has a surprise for her; he has fiancee. And she has two children.... One being her drunk one night stand boy... Oops.
Whitley is sarcastic, blunt and not so easy to like at first as we see her as a "I don't need any friends and I don't want any, leave me alone" kind of girl. However, as we learn more about her past and her current life situation, we begin to understand what has shaped her to be the way she is. Though she definitely progresses a vast amount as a character through the book and you will end up loving her by the end.

Nathan. *Sigh* NathanNathanNathan. Could there have been any other boy in this book that would have made me swoon as much as I did? Erm, no. This boy... Honestly. He is the perfect mixture between hot and adorable nerd. And fine, whatever, he and Whitley are going to become step-brother and step-sister? I just couldn't care less really all through the book I was cheering them on; I needed them together so bad. They are the cutest contemporary pair that I have read about in a long while.
I really loved seeing Whitley progress with the help from her new family, but also Harrison. He is a guy that Whitley tried to make a move on before he laughs in her face and tells her he swings the other way. He's simply hilarious and adds heaps of humor to the storyline; not like it needed anymore, but he was fabulous.
I would definitely recommend A Midsummer's Nightmare to anyone who loves a good and enjoyable contemporary which deals with issues both heavy and light; family, friends, relationships, etc. I will 100% be getting down and reading some more of Keplinger's books as I enjoyed this immensely.
A review copy was provided by the publisher