Wednesday, 26 February 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (92)


This week I'm waiting for...
Silver Shadows (Bloodlines, #5)
Release Date: July 29, 2014
Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden from the Alchemists.

Now in the aftermath of an event that ripped their world apart, Sydney and Adrian struggle to pick up the pieces and find their way back to each other. But first, they have to survive. 

For Sydney, trapped and surrounded by adversaries, life becomes a daily struggle to hold on to her identity and the memories of those she loves. Meanwhile, Adrian clings to hope in the face of those who tell him Sydney is a lost cause, but the battle proves daunting as old demons and new temptations begin to seize hold of him. . . .

This. Sounds. Amazing. 
It also sounds like it has more action, maybe, than the other books. Sadly, it doesn't sounds like there will be as much Adrian and Sydney time like there was in The Fiery Heart. NEVERTHELESS, I NEED THIS SO BAD!
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 24 February 2014

My review of Breath of Frost

A Breath of Frost (Lovegrove Legacy #1) by Alyxandra Harvey
Release Date: January 2, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

A Breath of Frost (The Lovegrove Legacy, #1)In 1814, three cousins—Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope—discover their family lineage of witchcraft when a binding spell is broken, allowing their individual magical powers to manifest. Now, beyond the manicured gardens and ballrooms of Regency London, an alluring underworld available only to those with power is revealed to the cousins. By claiming their power, the three cousins have accidentally opened the gates to the underworld. 

Now ghouls, hellhounds—and most terrifying of all, the spirits of dark witches known as the Greymalkin Sisters—are hunting and killing young debutante witches for their powers. And, somehow, Emma is connected to the murders…because she keeps finding the bodies. 

Can the cousins seal the gates before another witch is killed…or even worse, before their new gifts are stripped away?

A threesome with an ancient power that could put everyone at risk. A Breath of Frost is an explosive beginning to the Lovegrove Legacy about the witches and warlocks of the 19th century. What can I say? I fell in love very quickly with the characters, setting and Harvey's great writing style. She is the author of the Drake Chronicles, which is about vampires and I adored that series so I knew that her take on witches would not let me down.

A Breath of Frost is about three cousins who has witchcraft in their ancestry, but none really know anything about it until Emma breaks a spell that finally allows each of the cousins' powers to show. However, breaking the spell also unleashed a dark force and opened the gates to the underworld.

I really enjoyed the multiple point of views that the chapters were told in to get a 360 degree view of the whole story, but it also made the story that much more thrilling. The alternative POVs also offered more background to the story and drip-fed us information in order for the plot to slowly unravel itself........ It was just amazing, guys.
The overall book focuses mainly on Emma, but we do get to see Gretchen and Penelope and how they cope with their powers. But it also means that we get three kickass romance plots. I LURVEEDD Cormac. Yes, a funny name; but he is a brilliantly charming character who you will fall in love with, even when Emma may not.
Alyxandra Harvey is simply brilliant. Her writing is flawless and her stories are captivating and draw you in when you least expect it. A Breath of Frost is a clear sign that the upcoming books are going to have a lot to offer. The magic, the action, the romance... Please, I need you, Whisper the Dear, my dear sequel. 

For those who prefer vampires, that's okay, I can swiftly refer you to Harvey's Drake Chronicles series.
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Sunday, 23 February 2014

Book Haul (#77)


I hope you've all had a fantastic week! I've spent my week relaxing because it is half term, in England we get one week off for all of our hard work. Yipee. 
Anyways, this week I've received:
PurityA Midsummer's Nightmare
Purity by Jackson Pearce - Received -
Thank you Hachette's Children's Books! I really like Pearce's writing style in her fairytale retellings series, and I really love contemporary, so I think that's a pretty good combination.
A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger - Received -
Thank you Hachette's Children's Books! I've heard some really good things about Kody Keplinger's "The Duff" and "Shout Out", but I haven't read them, therefore I'm quite eager to check out this story!

Leave a link to your Book Haul/In My Mailbox/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/Showcase Sunday in the comments so I can check it out!

Enjoy all your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (91)


This week I'm waiting for...
Since You've Been Gone
Release Date: May 6, 2014
The Pre-Sloane Emily didn't go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn't do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just... disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try... unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait... what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um...

I quite like Morgan Matson's writing style and I enjoyed Amy & Roger's Epic Detour so I will definitely be picking this up. After all, I am a contemporary junkie.

**I am sorry for displaying Hitler. The GIF simply reflects my reaction**
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 17 February 2014

My review of Unhinged

Unhinged (Splintered #2) by A.G. Howard
Release Date: January 1, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Unhinged (Splintered, #2)Alyssa Gardner has been down the rabbit hole and faced the bandersnatch. She saved the life of Jeb, the guy she loves, and escaped the machinations of the disturbingly seductive Morpheus and the vindictive Queen Red. Now all she has to do is graduate high school and make it through prom so she can attend the prestigious art school in London she's always dreamed of.

That would be easier without her mother, freshly released from an asylum, acting overly protective and suspicious. And it would be much simpler if the mysterious Morpheus didn’t show up for school one day to tempt her with another dangerous quest in the dark, challenging Wonderland—where she (partly) belongs.

As prom and graduation creep closer, Alyssa juggles Morpheus’s unsettling presence in her real world with trying to tell Jeb the truth about a past he’s forgotten. Glimpses of Wonderland start to bleed through her art and into her world in very disturbing ways, and Morpheus warns that Queen Red won’t be far behind.

If Alyssa stays in the human realm, she could endanger Jeb, her parents, and everyone she loves. But if she steps through the rabbit hole again, she'll face a deadly battle that could cost more than just her head.

Unhinged is the stunning and absolutely enthralling sequel to Splintered; an unexpectedly creepy twist on Alice in Wonderland following the great, great, great granddaughter of Alice herself. Howard puts a new and wonderful twist on the classic tale that will no doubt capture the attention of those who enjoy a delicious fantasy world.

Unhinged is set a year after the events in Splintered and Alyssa is fighting to fulfill Jeb's lost memories of Wonderland in order not to only take the weight of the situation off her shoulders, but also to open up their relationship a bit more. However, the call of Wonderland never quietens and, before we know it, Morpheus is back with stories of how Wonderland needs their queen Alyssa to fight back against the Red Queen. But things are complicated as Alyssa simply wants to live a normal life away from the madness of her lineage.

I think I loved this even more than the previous book. There was simply more charm to Morpheus, a deeper plot and some real good Wonderland tie-ins throughout the book, to give us a better insight into what happens in Wonderland that we have yet to witness and experience.

Morpheus or Jeb? Please, don't ask!! I'm genuinely torn. Howard brought out a considerably large list of positive and negative traits in each of these boys and I found myself switching sides a lot before finally coming to the conclusion that I adore both of them. Each have such charm. 
On the one hand, I want Alyssa to pick Jeb because he's human and can offer her the normal life that she's always wanted, but also because he's effortlessly sweet and caring. But, on the other hand, I want her to go with Morpheus as deep down he has cared for her for a long, long time and because Wonderland seems like the place where Alyssa should be. *Sigh* I can't pick.
No doubt in my mind that Ensnared is going to an epic adventure with plenty of action and romance. I'm pretty sure that it'll break my heart, too. *Morpheus and Jeb* For those who have not picked up Splintered, definitely give it a try because it is endlessly unique with the most gorgeous setting and characters.
A review copy was provided by the publisher

Saturday, 15 February 2014

Book Haul (#76)


I've missed so many book haul posts, I'm sorry. Last week I didn't have internet and it was just a nightmare. I've been trying to catch up on some reading and reviewing in between my exams and I'm really excited for you guys to read the upcoming posts in the next few weeks.

I hope you're all doing well. If you've seen The Awkward Moment, let me know what you thought of it in the comments! I want to watch it so bad. Mmmmmmm, Zac Efron.
Anyway, this week I've received:
Earthfall (Earthfall #1) by Mark Walden - Received -
Thank you, Bloomsbury! It feels like I haven't read a dystopian novel in a long while, this sounds and looks pretty cool but I think I'll leave it until I've read the Maze Runner as the movie is out this year!! AHHH. Dylan O'Brien <3
Tape by Steven Camden - Received -
Thank you, HarperCollins! I thought that this sounded pretty cool but it's got such bad reviews. *Sigh* I will be brave and give it a go! If you've read this please let me know what you think.

Stormbringer (Weather Witch, #2)
Stormbringer (Weather Witch #2) by Shannon Delany - Received -
Thank you, St Martin's Griffin! I haven't read the first book and I don't know when I will, but from what I've heard it does sound very intriguing.

Leave a link to you Book Haul/Stacking the Shelves/Letterbox Love/In My Mailbox/Showcase Sunday in the comments below so I can check it out!

Enjoy your books,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 12 February 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (90)


This week I'm waiting for...
Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy, #1)
Release Date: April 1, 2014
For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

It just sounds super, super cool and I'm really looking forward to reading all about them. I prefer to picture them as badass trolls rather than these little toys:
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Tuesday, 11 February 2014

Cover Reveal: The Shadow Prince


Today I'm here to reveal the cover of The Shadow Prince by Stacey O'Neale. This is a prequel novella in the Mortal Enchantment series which will be FREE on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble on March 25, 2014!
Release Date: March 25, 2014
Every sacrifice has consequences. 

Sixteen-year-old Rowan has spent most of his life living among the mortals—learning to control the element of fire, impatiently awaiting the day his vengeful mother, Queen Prisma, will abdicate her throne. When he finally returns to Avalon for his coronation, his mother insists he must first prove his loyalty to the court by completing a secret mission: 

Kill Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king. 

Willing to do anything to remove his mother from power, he agrees to sacrifice the halfling. He returns to the mortal world with his best friend, Marcus, determined to kill the princess. But as he devises a plan, he starts to question whether or not he's capable of completing such a heinous task. And what price he will pay if he refuses?

It sounds pretty cool to me! An awesome blend of paranormal goodness. Don't forget to add it to your Goodreads TBR list here.

You can also enter a giveaway for the book by completing the Rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Have a great day,
Sam :)

Monday, 10 February 2014

My review of Endless Knight

Endless Knight (The Arcana Chronicles #2) by Kresley Cole
Release Date: October 1, 2013
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Endless Knight (The Arcana Chronicles, #2)Evie has her full powers as the Tarot Empress, and Jack was there to see it all. Teens reincarnated as the Tarot are in the throes of an epic battle for mankind. She must trust new allies against other Arcana, Bagmen zombies, post-apocalyptic storms, and cannibals. But she's also drawn to Death, the Endless Knight, who shares history with the Empress. She can't remember; he can't forget.

*May contain spoilers for Poison Princess*
Poison Princess stunned me with its gripping and original premise, but Endless Knight simply blew me away in every way. I'm still trying to catch my breathe after that whirlwind of a book.

The Arcana Chronicles has a very, very interesting and complex plot, which I will attempt to explain. There is something called "The Flash", which is basically the end of the world and all that's left on the world are the Arcana cards to battle for the prize of immortality. The books are told from the POV of Evie who is one of the cards and we just get sucked into this deadly and messed up world. And the more you read, the harder it is to put the story down!

In Poison Princess, I was completely hooked on Jack, a boy from Evie's school before the flash, and I adored their relationship. When I heard that this "Death" guy was being introduced, I was like "HELL N'AW!"
However, Cole decides to be harsh on us and makes us fall in love with the closed-off and lonely "Death" character. As the story goes on, you just find yourself drawing away from Jack as secrets and twists are revealed, and you can't help but fall harder for Death, who ACTUALLY has a name. Aric. And he might not be the ruthless and vial creature you'd expect him to be...

We also meet more of the Tarot cards. Yep, more deadly people with supernatural powers; I LOVE IT! And in this installment I like how we see more of the powers that each of the characters have rather than simply skipping out on it all. We get to witness each growing into their own powers and it's magnificent to read about.

I will undoubtedly be reading the next installment as the story is simply too good to miss out on. If you want something quirky and unique with a kickass plot set in a strage dystopian world then this series is for you, my dear friend.

Wednesday, 5 February 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (89)


This week I'm waiting for...

Cruel Beauty
Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
Release Date:
January 28, 2014

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

OHHH MYYY! Can I have this now? Please? Please? This sounds crazy GOOD.
Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below so I can check it out!

Have a good week,
Sam :D

Monday, 3 February 2014

My review of Shadow of the Mark

Shadow of the Mark (Carrier #2) by Leigh Fallon
Release Date:
July 9, 2013

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Shadow of the Mark (Carrier, #2)Their love could destroy them all.

Through the ages, Marked Ones have harnessed the powers of the four elements: Water, Fire, Earth, and Air. Much about the elements is shrouded in mystery, but one thing is certain: A relationship between two Marked Ones has the potential to cause widespread devastation.

Megan and Adam—Air and Water—are determined to defy the risks.

But the power that swirls inside Megan is growing in twisted ways. And the closer she is to Adam, the closer Megan comes to unleashing a dark force that could spell destruction for the entire Marked line.

Shadow of the Mark is the sequel to Carrier of the Mark which focuses on elemental powers, old enemies and forbidden love. There are people called "Marked Ones" who have the power of one of the four elements. A relationship between two Marked Ones are strictly forbidden but not even the rules can stop the feelings that Megan and Adam have for each other. However Megan is having problems with her element and she can feel the dark side of her element slowly taking over.

I honestly wasn't a fan of the first book as it seemed to follow the same plot line of Twilight, which I have had enough of, thank you very much. I liked the element idea, but it fell short for me. However, Fallon picks the story up a bit here and attempts to add some of her own unique twists, which makes it a lot more enjoyable, thus explaining why my rating for the book is seemingly average.
I wouldn't rave about this series to anyone and nor would I trash it. The books are okay and contains a pretty intriguing plot with mildly interesting characters. The elements play a kickass role in the story and enhance the fantasy/supernatural feel.

I liked the romance. At times. Mostly. I'm not sure yet. Adam and Megan have a roller coaster relationship and it is mainly down to the rules that they have to follow and their inner elemental powers. Especially in this sequel, when Megan's element begins to develop and become dangerous; it makes it harder for her to be around any Marked ones, especially Adam.

I will be reading Age of the Fifth, the final book in the trilogy. The story and characters are enough to keep me interested, but I realise that some will obviously not like this for its weak narrator.