Thursday, 30 August 2012

September Giveaway

Hey,

I just realised that I haven't done a giveaway in a while so...here is a September giveaway!
Defiance (Defiance, #1)What's Left of Me (The Hybrid Chronicles, #1)
Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)Envy (The Fury Trilogy, #2)
Defiance by C.J. Redwine
What's Left Of Me by Kat Zhang
Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
Envy by Elizabeth Miles

One winner can pick one book from above! This giveaway is international as long as the Book Depository ships to you.

*** Giveaway Closed***
Winner: Natalia O. She picked Defiance!

Thanks for stopping by,
Sam :D

The Pledged Excerpt + Author Interview

Hey,
Today In Shenaya
I am part of the Pledged book launch and I have been given an excerpt of the book for your reading pleasure. For those of you who have not seen or heard about the book before, here is the blurb:
Pledged (Soul Wars Saga, #1)
Pledged (The Soul Wars Saga #1) by Gwynneth White
Release Date: June 13, 2012
Everyone has a soul mate. But what do you do when your soul mate would rather give his soul to the demons than be with you?

Seventeen-year-old Erin has a problem. Seth has been hers forever, but now an ancient curse is tearing him away. And the demons who invoked it will stop at nothing – even murder – to claim him as their own.

How can she win against a curse so binding that it has damned countless others to this same fate – an eternity alone?

The answer lies in the past. To find it, Erin and Seth must risk all, travelling back in time to a dangerous world where love is forbidden, and life – and death – hang on a pledge.

Follow Erin and Seth as they travel to ancient Shenaya and confront the curse that has plagued their families for millennia. Caught in a war between the Angelic Guardians and the Gefallen, the disembodied dead, they must fight to keep their souls in tact and their love untainted.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is an excerpt introducing the main characters:
Despite the heat, Seth felt icy. Dread could do that to him. Or so he had recently discovered. Deep breathing usually calmed him, so he sucked in a lungful of desert air and told himself to relax. It didn’t help. By the time he’d walked from the aircraft to the immigration hall he’d ripped off a jagged piece of thumbnail, already bitten raw. He handed his US passport to the Botswanan border official, and, after a frown, and a stamp, he joined the crowd at the baggage carousel. Botswana in southern Africa was the last place on earth he’d ever have picked for a holiday destination. But he wasn’t here on holiday. Not even close.
His backpack was slow in coming. Tired from his long-haul flight from New York, he leaned against the wall and closed his eyes. Almost as if to mock him, the hated vision that had brought him to Botswana burst into his mind. In an instant he was back in ancient times, watching a man he knew only as Gideon. As usual, Gideon was huddled on a windswept hill with his band of hopeless soldiers, waiting to be slaughtered by a huge army gathered in the valley below.
Seth snapped his eyes open to stop the battle from waging in his mind. It wasn’t that he was particularly squeamish; he’d watched enough movies to iron clad his stomach against gory visuals. But no movie had ever left him icy with dread the way Gideon’s battle did. And the reason for that was simple. The moment the visions had started, he had known that the war, fought so long ago in a place he’d never heard of, was far from over. And, as reluctant as he was, he too was being enlisted to fight in a cause he didn’t understand or want.
He forced himself to focus on the present: Erin, who waited for him in the arrivals hall; his brother Kyle, whom he’d come to Botswana to visit; Kyle’s expedition to find the Lost City of the Kalahari . . .
He ripped off another piece of fingernail. Thinking about the search for the Lost City was almost as bad as the war-vision. I hope Kyle never finds the damned place. He slapped his hand on his thigh. Enough! Grabbing his backpack off the carousel, he set his face into a smile and strode into the arrivals hall.
The first hurdle was finding Erin. She was due to arrive an hour earlier on a flight from Cape Town in South Africa, one of Botswana’s neighbours. He’d never met her, although they had spoken over the phone once. Then she’d described herself as “a short, seventeen-year-old (a year younger than him) with a mass of ginger hair.” She’d sounded nice. Meeting her was the one ray of brightness in this otherwise dark picture.
He stopped to scan the crowd. A petite girl with shoulder length, reddish-blonde curls, dressed in skinny jeans and a purple blouse, immediately caught his eye. It had to be Erin. Nice legs. What’s it with girls that they always under-sell themselves? He studied her face with his artist’s eye. Vermeer would’ve killed to paint her. Suddenly wishing he didn’t look so grimy after his three plane-changes, he walked over to join her. “Hi, I’m Seth. You’ve got to be Erin. My brother’s just married your sister Izzy.”
“And after only knowing each other for about a week.”
Her dimpled grin was infectious, making him crack his trademark crooked smile. “Madness.”
“Mysterious.” Erin cocked her head to one side, seemingly appraising him. He knew he had been accurate when he’d told her he was tall and dark-haired. But what he had failed to mention was what girls had often said they liked about him: his strong, angular face, softened by expressive brown eyes. He watched her eyes rove over his grey Muse: Resistance t-shirt, taking in his broad shoulders and chest. From there they darted down his black camo-pants to his boots. Amused by her blatant assessment, he cocked his head to one side, watching her. Suddenly Erin giggled – was she embarrassed? – and picked up her bag.
“We’ve yet another plane to catch. My fourth in the last twenty-four hours,” Seth said, hoping to explain away his rumpled appearance. “To a place called Maun.”
“So we do. Let the adventure begin.”
Like the excerpt? 
Here is my interview with the author, Gwynneth White:
Hi Sam, thank you for inviting me onto your blog today. I really appreciate it.
Where did the idea for Pledged come from?
It all started about ten years ago when three characters – Sophia, Jared and Caleb - arrived in my head. Of course, like any sane person confronted with squatters, I tried to evict them, but instead I came under their spell, falling deeply in love with them. In the end, I allowed them to take up permanent residence. Over the years they told me their story about curses and promises, love and betrayal set in a lost land called Shenaya. This ancient land was torn apart by warring demons and angels. Sophia, Jared and Caleb were so insistent they finally won me over to write their tale. Then they invited two more of their friends – Seth and Erin - to stay with us too. They had also been to Shenaya and had their own a story to tell. That was the start of the Soul Wars Saga of which Pledged is the first book.

Who is your favourite character from the book?
Jared. I’m in love with him. In my mind, he’s the perfect blend of a bad-good guy. Warlord of Shenaya, he’s not your classic good-looker, but he’s got a strong, commanding face, which pretty much tells the world what he’s about. When you first meet him, you’ll find him sardonic and egotistical. But if you win his heart, he will be loyal to you unto death.

Will Pledged be available in paperback?
Pledged is currently available in paperback on Amazon. I’m hoping that if enough of you ask your local bookstores for it, we’ll be able stock it in the traditional bricks-and-mortar stores too.

Are working on any other projects?
Pledged is the first book in the Soul Wars Saga trilogy. The next in the series, Sacrificed, will be released in January 2013. And the final book is due out in June 2013.

In ten words tell readers why they should read Pledged.
Only ten words? Hmm . . . I think I can manage that: So many twists, you’ll get friction burns from page-turning.

Thanks for coming on the blog and have a great week,
Sam :D

Wednesday, 29 August 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (14)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
Origin
Release Date: September 4, 2012
Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home—and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin—a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

I've heard mixed things about this one but I'm going to read it anyway because it looks awesome. Seriously, look at the catch-line, "The jungle hides a girl who cannot die." Sounds like a very exciting book!!

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments.

Have a great week,
Sam

Tuesday, 28 August 2012

Last Summer Blog Tour Stop + Giveaway

Hey,

Today, the Last Summer blog tour stops here! For those who have not heard or seen the book before, here is the blurb:
Last Summer
Last Summer by Rebecca A. Rogers
Release Date: July 18th, 2012
All Chloe Sullivan wants to do is get through the summer. Her life has been in disarray for more than six months, and she knows the only reason her parents made one final trip to Sandy Shores is because of her. They are, after all, two seconds away from filing for divorce. When Chloe stumbles upon a boy in one of her childhood hangouts, she’s in for more than just a relaxing summer vacation. 

Logan Andrews is exhausted, famished and, quite frankly, kaput. His parents kicked him out when he refused to attend a rehabilitation program for his drug addiction. Now, he wishes he would’ve listened; he’d be receiving appropriate medical care rather than living in a dingy, godforsaken shack, holing up from money-hungry drug dealers. 

Logan’s godsend arrives in the form of Chloe, who can’t hold her tongue when it comes to matters of the heart. They’re both in for a rude awakening when Logan’s past catches up to them, though. Can they escape the drug dealers showing up at every twist and turn, or will things end much worse than they ever imagined? 

WARNING: contains strong language, drug use, and sexual situations, including an explicit sex scene and a near-rape scene. Mature audiences only.

My review:
Last Summer is a book about love, loss and betrayal that I finished it one good sitting. It is for new adults and not young adults because it does deal with situations like drug use and sexual situations.

Chloe Sullivan hasn't had the best six months. Her parents have had a non-stop bickering session. She also  knows that the only reason why their making the effort to make one last trip to Sandy Shores is because of her. Chloe isn't sure she's going to make it through the summer, but when she runs into a drug-addicted boy in her childhood hangout, she knows that her vacation might be more interesting than she thought. 

This book is told from the POVs of Chloe and Logan; a drug-addicted boy who was kicked out by his parents for refusing to attend a rehabilitation program. When Chloe meets Logan she wants to help him overcome his addiction, but when the two learn more about each other and can't deny the attraction between them, Logan realises that loving Chloe could put her in serious danger. Logan's drug dealer, Big P, wants his money. And he will kill anyone who stands in his way.

I loved reading about Chloe and Logan's relationship that continued to develop through out the book. The two were two great characters with intriguing pasts. 

Last Summer surprised me in a very good way. I had never read any book that dealt with such a big situation like drug-use so it was great to try something new. It's a quick read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this genre, but please keep in mind that it is for NEW adults and not YOUNG adults. 

Last Summer is very well written. Confident and bold, Rogers does not hesitate to attack the plot with full force. I will definitely be checking out her YA series, which I believe is about werewolves, and her future novels.
Rating


Rebecca A. RogersAbout the Author:
Growing up, Rebecca pretended to be characters from books, movies, and TV shows (especially Xena). Now, though she doesn't run around her backyard and freak out the neighbors with Xena calls and invisible weapons, she still live inside her imagination, and it’s better than reality. An avid gamer, daydreamer, chocoholic, coffee addict, animal lover, and own way too many books and shoes.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rebecca is giving away 5 copies of Last Summer on her blog HERE, so if your in desperate need to read the book, HERE IS YOUR CHANCE!

Here is the rest of the blog tour:

WEEK ONE
Monday, August 6
Tuesday, August 7
  Kelsey @ Enchanted Books
Wednesday, August 8
  Riya @ The Teen Book Guru
Thursday, August 9
  Candace @ Woven Myst (YA Magazine)
Friday, August 10
Saturday, August 11

  WEEK TWO
Monday, August 13
  Ellen @ Always YA at Heart
Tuesday, August 14
Wednesday, August 15
  Melissa @ Harley Bear Book Blog
Thursday, August 16
Friday, August 17
  Donna @ Book Passion for Life
Saturday, August 18
  Brianne @ Memories Overtaking Me

WEEK THREE
Monday, August 20
Tuesday, August 21
  Hannah @ The Girl in a CafĂ©
Wednesday, August 22
  Ginger @ GReads
Thursday, August 23
Friday, August 24
Emma @ Belle Books
Saturday, August 25
  Kelly and Lisa @ Book Mark Belles

WEEK FOUR
Monday, August 27
  Kara @ Kara Loves Reading
Tuesday, August 28
  Samantha @ Book Crazed Reviews
Wednesday, August 29
Friday, August 31
Laura @ What’s Hot

Make sure you check out Last Summer!
Sam :)

Monday, 27 August 2012

My review of Last Summer

Last Summer by Rebecca A. Rogers
Release Date: July 18th, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon 

Last SummerAll Chloe Sullivan wants to do is get through the summer. Her life has been in disarray for more than six months, and she knows the only reason her parents made one final trip to Sandy Shores is because of her. They are, after all, two seconds away from filing for divorce. When Chloe stumbles upon a boy in one of her childhood hangouts, she’s in for more than just a relaxing summer vacation. 

Logan Andrews is exhausted, famished and, quite frankly, kaput. His parents kicked him out when he refused to attend a rehabilitation program for his drug addiction. Now, he wishes he would’ve listened; he’d be receiving appropriate medical care rather than living in a dingy, godforsaken shack, holing up from money-hungry drug dealers. 

Logan’s godsend arrives in the form of Chloe, who can’t hold her tongue when it comes to matters of the heart. They’re both in for a rude awakening when Logan’s past catches up to them, though. Can they escape the drug dealers showing up at every twist and turn, or will things end much worse than they ever imagined? 


Last Summer is a book about love, loss and betrayal that I finished it one good sitting. It is for new adults and not young adults because it does deal with situations like drug use and sexual situations.

Chloe Sullivan hasn't had the best six months. Her parents have had a non-stop bickering session. She also  knows that the only reason why their making the effort to make one last trip to Sandy Shores is because of her. Chloe isn't sure she's going to make it through the summer, but when she runs into a drug-addicted boy in her childhood hangout, she knows that her vacation might be more interesting than she thought. 

This book is told from the POVs of Chloe and Logan; a drug-addicted boy who was kicked out by his parents for refusing to attend a rehabilitation program. When Chloe meets Logan she wants to help him overcome his addiction, but when the two learn more about each other and can't deny the attraction between them, Logan realises that loving Chloe could put her in serious danger. Logan's drug dealer, Big P, wants his money. And he will kill anyone who stands in his way.

I loved reading about Chloe and Logan's relationship that continued to develop through out the book. The two were two great characters with intriguing pasts. 

Last Summer surprised me in a very good way. I had never read any book that dealt with such a big situation like drug-use so it was great to try something new. It's a quick read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this genre, but please keep in mind that it is for NEW adults and not YOUNG adults. 

Last Summer is very well written. Confident and bold, Rogers does not hesitate to attack the plot with full force. I will definitely be checking out her YA series, which I believe is about werewolves, and her future novels.
Rating

- A big thanks to Rebecca A. Rogers for providing me with a review copy!

Inbetween Blog Tour Stop - Review + Giveaway

Hey,

I'm very happy to be taking part in this Inbetween blog tour hosted by Shane @ Itching for Books. 
For those who haven't seen or heard of this book, make sure you check out the blurb, my review and an AWESOME giveaway to win a signed copy.
Inbetween (Kissed by Death, #1)
Inbetween (Kissed by Death #1) by Tara Fuller
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky — and unending — lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.

It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul. 
My review:
Inbetween is a fresh and exciting new take on reapers and true love. Fed-up of vampires and werewolves but still want to read a heart-racing paranormal story? Inbetween is for you.

After Emma survived a car crash three years ago, her life has been filled with never-ending "accidents". Right now, Emma is seventeen-years-old and trying to keep herself sane by focusing on school. But when Finn turns up out of nowhere, Emma feels a tug of familiarity. Finn is the boy who saved her from the car crash, a reaper who wasn't willing to let her die. Now, Emma is falling for him and that could her in more danger than she could ever imagine.

After reading Fuller's debut novel, Perigee Moon, I immediately fell in love with her style of writing and her ability to bring her characters to life. When I found out about this series I just had to read as soon as possible. Come on, a girl falling in love with a reaper while trying not to get herself killed? A story to get your heart racing!

I really, really enjoyed the characters. They were fun and extremely entertaining, especially Cash. Cash is Emma's best friend who sneaks in through her bedroom window every night to check if she's okay. Cash is one of those boys that are loyal and caring, but still knows how to have a good time. He made me laugh a lot throughout the book, and seemed to brighten the most dull of situations. I hope to see more of him in the sequel. 

Inbetween is an exciting and heart-pumping novel that I would happily recommend to any who's looking for a cute romance with action and suspense. I'm looking forward to seeing what spins Fuller puts on the sequel.
Rating
 About the Author:
Tara A. FullerTara Fuller writes novels; some about grim reapers and some about witches. All of course are delightfully full of teen angst and kissing. Tara grew up in a one stop light town in Oklahoma where once upon a time she stayed up with a flash light reading RL Stine novels and only dreamed of becoming a writer. She has a slight obsession with music and a shameless addiction for zombie fiction, Mystery Science Theater, and black and white mochas. Tara no longer lives in a one stop light town. Now she lives with her family in a slightly larger town in North Carolina where they have at least three stoplights.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have a great week,
Sam :)

Saturday, 25 August 2012

Book Haul (#11)

Hey,

Here are the books that I have received/bought/borrowed/won these last few weeks:
Spellbound (Spellbound, #1)Last Summer
Thank you, Mira Ink! I've seen this book everywhere on US blogs and I am very happy that it is being published in the UK. 
Thank you, Rebecca! This is a new adult novel that deals with drug issues. I'm taking part in the blog tour and my stop is on August 28, so check out my post.

Stitch (Stitch Trilogy, #1)Carrier of the Mark (Carrier Trilogy, #1)
Thank you, Samantha! This book sounds amazing, I can't wait to start it. I'm also taking part in the blog tour and my stop is on September 7th.
Thank you, Nova Ren Suma for hosting the giveaway, and Leigh Fallon for sending the book! I was ecstatic when I found out that I won a signed and personalised copy of the book because I never expected to win, so thank you very much.

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6)Anna and the French Kiss
Thank you, Jennifer @ Some Like It Paranormal! I won this off her Adrian Ivashkov giveaway. 
When I was on my holiday in Thailand, I found this book in the english section of the book shop and I couldn't resist buying it. I've already read it and I thought it was AMAZING!

Leave a comment with a link to your book haul!

Enjoy your books,
Sam :)

Friday, 24 August 2012

My review of Inbetween

Inbetween (Kissed by Death #1) by Tara Fuller
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Inbetween (Kissed by Death, #1)
Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky — and unending — lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.

It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul.

Inbetween is a fresh and exciting new take on reapers and true love. Fed-up of vampires and werewolves but still want to read a heart-racing paranormal story? Inbetween is for you.

After Emma survived a car crash three years ago, her life has been filled with never-ending "accidents". Right now, Emma is seventeen-years-old and trying to keep herself sane by focusing on school. But when Finn turns up out of nowhere, Emma feels a tug of familiarity. Finn is the boy who saved her from the car crash, a reaper who wasn't willing to let her die. Now, Emma is falling for him and that could her in more danger than she could ever imagine.

After reading Fuller's debut novel, Perigee Moon, I immediately fell in love with her style of writing and her ability to bring her characters to life. When I found out about this series I just had to read as soon as possible. Come on, a girl falling in love with a reaper while trying not to get herself killed? A story to get your heart racing!

I really, really enjoyed the characters. They were fun and extremely entertaining, especially Cash. Cash is Emma's best friend who sneaks in through her bedroom window every night to check if she's okay. Cash is one of those boys that are loyal and caring, but still knows how to have a good time. He made me laugh a lot throughout the book, and seemed to brighten the most dull of situations. I hope to see more of him in the sequel. 

Inbetween is an exciting and heart-pumping novel that I would happily recommend to any who's looking for a cute romance with action and suspense. I'm looking forward to seeing what spins Fuller puts on the sequel.
Rating

- A big thanks to Entangled Publishing for providing me with a review copy.

Wednesday, 22 August 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (13)

Hey,

This week I'm waiting for...
The Dark Light
The Dark Light by Sara Walsh
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Mysterious lights have flickered above Crownsville for as long as Mia can remember. And as far as she's concerned, that's about the only interesting thing to happen in her small town.

That is, until Sol arrives. Mia's not one to fall for just any guy, but she can't get Sol--or the brilliant tattoo on his back--out of her mind.

Then Mia's brother goes missing, and Mia's convinced that Sol knows more than he's sharing. But getting closer to Sol means reevaluating everything Mia once believed to be true. Because Sol's not who Mia thought he was--and neither is she.

This one sounds really cool, I can't wait to read it! Oh, and there will be a copy given away next month to one lucky reader, along side an interview with the one and only, Sara Walsh! So keep your eyes open.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments.
Sam :)

Tuesday, 21 August 2012

My review of Pushing the Limits

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry 
Release Date: August 3rd, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Pushing the Limits"I won't tell anyone, Echo. I promise." Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. "You didn't do that-did you? It was done to you?" No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.

So wrong for each other...and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.


Pushing the Limits is an intriguing and addictive YA contemporary that will make your heart melt. Katie McGarry delivers a unique and unforgettable love story.

Echo and Noah are two troubled teens with unthinkable pasts. They are thrown together at the lowest point of their lives; Echo is battling with the memories of the most horrific night of her life and  Noah is losing his visiting rights to see his younger brothers, the only family he has left. When Echo and Noah meet, they don't immediately get along. Echo believes that Noah is a girl-using boy in a black jacket with nothing else to do but get high. Noah thinks Echo is a strange, hot girl who doesn't seem to have a social life. But as time goes buy they realise they have more in common than either them could have guessed.

Wow. Just wow. I knew I was going to like this book from reading many gushing and hyped-up fan girling reviews, I just didn't expect to love this much! The plot, the characters, the writing style, the description, the dialogue, damn, I couldn't bare to put it down to go to the toilet. McGarry had me from chapter 1.

I adore the characters. They all have different, yet entertaining, personalities and interesting backgrounds. My favourite character would definitely be Noah. Sorry! I can't help it. He's strong and tough, but under that there lies something vulnerable, the caring side to him. I loved  the flirting between Noah and Echo, many scenes made me laugh out loud and look like a crazy hyena. But, there were also plenty of emotional scenes to get your tears flowing.


Pushing the Limits is simply one of those books that you must read before you die. I promise this book does not disappoint YA fans. I can not WAIT to read Dare You To, the companion novel to Pushing the Limits.

Rating
 
- A big thanks to Mira Ink for sending me a review copy!

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

Teaser Tuesday (4)

Hey,

This is a weekly bookish meme is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.
----------------------------------------------
To participate you:
* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
(Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
---------------------------------------------
Seeking Crystal (Benedict, #3)Here is a teaser from Seeking Crystal (Benedict #3) by Joss Stirling. The book is released on October 16th so make sure you check it out! My review will be posted in September.

He forced himself to look back at me. 'Cupcake, you look good enough to eat as I'm sure you know. Be careful. I don't want to have to rush to your rescue when you get overwhelmed with admirers. I don't trust these guys.'

Check the book out on Goodreads HERE!

Until next time, 
Sam :)

Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (12)

Hey,


This week I'm looking forward to...
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles, #1)
Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles #1) by Lenore Appelhans
Release Date: January 15, 2013
Since her untimely death the day before her eighteenth birthday, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow prisoners, Felicia passes the endless hours downloading memories and mourning what she’s lost—family, friends, and the boy she loved, Neil.

Then a girl in a neighboring chamber disappears, and nobody but Felicia seems to recall she existed in the first place. Something is obviously very wrong. When Julian—a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life—comes to offer Felicia a way out, she learns the truth: a rebellion is brewing to overthrow the Morati, the guardians of Level 2.

Felicia is reluctant to trust Julian, but then he promises what she wants the most—to be with Neil again—if only she’ll join the rebels. Suspended between Heaven and Earth, Felicia finds herself in the center of an age-old struggle between good and evil. As memories from her life come back to haunt her, and as the Morati hunt her down, Felicia will discover it’s not just her own redemption at stake… but the salvation of all mankind.

This one looks so cool! Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments.

Have a great week,
Sam :)

Saturday, 4 August 2012

My review of Onyx

Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Onyx (Lux, #2)Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarre connection. I’ve sworn him off even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But against all common sense, I’m falling for him. Hard.

Our relationship issues aren’t out biggest problem…

The Department of Defense is here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And when a new boy shows up a school with a secret of his own, things get complicated fast. I need to choose between my own instincts and Daemon’s.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. Daemon’s never going to stop searching until gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies.


- Read Obsidian before you read Onyx! - 

Onyx is the second book in the much-loved Lux series. Action, mystery, romance and a whole load of aliens. Be prepared for another dose of Jennifer L. Armentrout's awesomeness!

In Obsidian, Katy met Dee and Daemon, brother and sister with a dangerous secret. Now, in Onyx, Katy's relationship with the two siblings is stronger than ever, especially her all-too-hot relationship with Daemon. But Katy and Daemon are connected, due to a deadly battle against the arum, and Daemon is determined to prove that what he feels for Katy has nothing to do with the unearthly tie.

To make matters worse, the Department of Defense is snooping, and if then find out that Katy and Daemon are linked...then she's a goner. 

If you thought Obsidian was hot, Onyx will melt you into one big gooey puddle. 

In this engrossing sequel, we see that Katy has grown into a stronger person. She is ready to take risks and make her own decisions, even if it means ignoring Daemon's warnings. Katy and Daemon made me laugh so much! The two are just the cutest couple. It was interesting to watch Katy deny her attraction to gorgeous Daemon Black, because she always failed miserably at lying to his face.

I think you will be shocked to here that Daemon is so much hotter in this book. Yes, yes, I thought it wasn't possible either! We see the more loving and caring side to him that we've all been waiting for. He even makes an appearance in one of Katy's In My Mailbox posts that, unsurprisingly, gets quite a few hits. 

I love Jennifer's writing so much and for those of you who haven't read any of her books then you should get them ASAP! She creates the hottest guys with the most entertaining of personalities. If your looking for a set of amazing books to read this summer then check out all of Jennifer's books.

Overall, Onyx is a very worthy sequel that will definitely satisfy fans of the first book and will keep readers captivated until the very end. The third book, Opal? I want you now.


Rating
- A big thanks to Doris for sending me her personal copy!

Friday, 3 August 2012

Pushing The Limits - UK Release

Hey,


Guess what book is released today in the UK?
Pushing the Limits
"I won't tell anyone, Echo. I promise." Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. "You didn't do that-did you? It was done to you?" No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.



So wrong for each other...and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

Check it out on Goodreads HERE! Oh, and look below. A trailer!!

If your looking for a summer read then pick this one up as soon as possible!
Sam :D