Tuesday, 31 July 2012

The Blessed Blog Tour

Hey,

I'm ecstatic to be part of The Blessed blog tour today!


The Blessed (Blessed #1) by Tonya Hurley
Release Date: August 2, 2012
Brooklyn teens Lucy, Cecelia and Agnes find themselves in the emergency room at Perpetual Help Hospital at the lowest point in their lives. Lucy, the superficial party girl; Cecelia, a drop out rock chick; and Agnes, a hopeless romantic. All rebels running from their lives and themselves, plagued by broken hearts and broken dreams. Enter Sebastian. Mysterious, compelling, seductive. He seems to bring each of them what they long for...


But in the battle for his heart, will they lose their souls?

I read The Blessed last week, you can check out my review HERE! Now for a Q&A with the author, Tonya Hurley.

How did you get the idea for The Blessed?
I was reading stories about ancient female martyrs and it struck me how young these girls actually were when they were killed and how deep a faith, love actually, they possessed that they would willingly sacrifice themselves.  I began to wonder if that sort of passion existed today and one thing sort of led to another. For me, these legends are actually some of the earliest YA stories.

Who is your favourite character from the book?
I can't really name a favorite.  I really enjoy writing each of them and there are bits of myself and people I know in each of them.  Maybe Cecilia, because of the NY music connection.

Do you prefer the US or the UK cover of The Blessed?
They are both very different and both cool, I think.  Both fit the book.

The Blessed (The Blessed, #1)The Blessed (The Blessed, #1)
UK | US

Are you working on any other projects?
I'm writing the second Blessed book now and I've just completed a ghostgirl Xmas novella for Autumn release.

In 10 words tell readers why they should read The Blessed.
It's different from any other young adult novels you've read.

Tonya HurleyAbout the Author:
New York Times bestselling ghostgirl author, Tonya Hurley, has credits spanning all platforms of teen entertainment. Her first novel, ghostgirl was an instant best-seller and has received starred reviews from the literary publications Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, VOYA and School Library Journal. Her second book in the series, ghostgirl: Homecoming, was released July 1, 2009. The ghostgirl audiobooks are narrated by Parker Posey with original music by Vince Clarke. The thrid book in the series, ghostgirl Lovesick was released on July 12, 2010. The first book in Tonya's upcoming trilogy THE BLESSED will be released by Simon & Schuster September 25, 2012. She is represented by William Morris Endeavor and is a member of Writers Guild of America. 


Thank you Hachette Children's Books for providing a UK paperback copy of The Blessed for the giveaway! This giveaway is UK only.


**GIVEAWAY CLOSED**
Winner is: Steph F. 

Have a great week,
Sam :)

My review of The Blessed

The Blessed (The Blessed #1) by Tonya Hurley
Release Date: August 2nd, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

The Blessed (The Blessed, #1)Brooklyn teens Lucy, Cecelia and Agnes find themselves in the emergency room at Perpetual Help Hospital at the lowest point in their lives. Lucy, the superficial party girl; Cecelia, a drop out rock chick; and Agnes, a hopeless romantic. All rebels running from their lives and themselves, plagued by broken hearts and broken dreams. Enter Sebastian. Mysterious, compelling, seductive. He seems to bring each of them what they long for...

But in the battle for his heart, will they lose their souls?



The Blessed is a very intriguing and slightly creepy YA novel, that will definitely appeal to some teens. 

The Blessed is about three girls, Lucy, Cecelia and Agnes, who all end up in the emergency room at the hospital. Lucy, the party girl; Cecelia, the musician; and Agnes, the girl with a big heart. They're all running away and leaving their lives behind. They meet Sebastian, a hot and mysterious guy who seems to bring each of the girls what they long for. But can they trust him? 

I didn't enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. I found the plot a little too complicated to understand and the characters very hard to connect with. When I was about 60 pages in, I didn't know who any of the characters were, what was actually happening or WHY it was happening. I didn't even understand the plot. 

I think the book was paced too fast and I would have liked more explanations, and less description of what the characters are wearing. I really, really tried with this book but there was just nothing that held my attention. The characters could have all died and I wouldn't have cared. 

Lucy, Cecelia and Agnes? I couldn't stand Lucy; she was self-centered and careless. I couldn't connect with her character at all. As for Cecelia and Agnes, I found them bearable. Cecelia is very passionate about her music, something I can connect with, and Agnes had the kindest of personalities, which made it very hard to not like her. 

Overall, The Blessed is not my kind of book but I would recommend it to anyone who wants a spooky and thought-provoking read.
Rating
- A copy was provided from the publisher for review.

Saturday, 28 July 2012

Book Haul (#10)

Hey,


Here are the books that I have received/bought/borrowed/won this week:
SpeechlessSweet Venom
Thank you Harlequin Teen for approving my request on Netgalley! I read this one a few days ago and utterly feel in love with it. Check out my review here!
Sweet Venom (Medusa Girls #1) by Tera Lynn Childs - Received
Thank you Templar publishing! This one looks and sounds awesome. Can't wait to get started. This is the UK paperback and will be released in September.


The Blessed (The Blessed, #1)The Forsaken (The Forsaken, #1)
The Blessed (The Blessed #1) by Tonya Hurley - Received
Thank you Hachette Children's Books! I'm taking part in the UK blog tour on Wednesday so make sure you check out my interview and giveaway.
The Forsaken (The Forsaken #1) by Lisa Stasse - Received
Thank you Hachette Children's Books! This one looks A LOT like The Hunger Games, but I can't wait to read it. 


Inbetween (Kissed by Death, #1)Breathe (Breathe, #1)
Thank you Entangled Publishing! I'm taking part in the blog tour for this one on August 27th. I loved Tara Fuller's debut novel, Perigee Moon, so I'm pretty sure I'll love this one too.
Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan - Received
Thank you Bloomsbury Publishing! This one sounds brilliant; a world with a limited amount of air? EXCITING!


Pushing the LimitsPure (Covenant, #2)
Thank you Mira Ink! I've only heard good things about this book and apparently it's hot.
I'm going on holiday tomorrow and I just had to get Pure! I love Jennifer L. Armentrout's books.

The PledgeFallen (Fallen, #1)
I bought The Pledge at The Works for £1.99! I saw it and I had to get it.
I've actually already read this and I absolutely hated it, but WH Smith (A UK book shop) is doing a promotional offer for 99p so I got it anyway.


My Love Lies Bleeding (Drake Chronicles, #1)Blood Feud (The Drake Chronicles, #2)
I've heard amazing things about this series and I just had to pick them up. 
I had to get the second book.

Out for Blood (Drake Chronicles, #3)Bleeding Hearts (Drake Chronicles, #4)
I had to get the third book as well.
Oh, look! The fourth book. Yeah, I had to pick it up.


Sisters Red (Fairytale Retellings, #1)
Sisters Red (Fairytale Retellings #1) by Jackson Pearce - Borrowed
I love fairytale retellings so I thought I'd give this one a try. 

That's my book haul for this week! Leave a link to your book haul in the comments below so I can check it out!


I'm going on holiday tomorrow so I'm sorry for the lack of posting (I've scheduled a few posts). I'll be back on August 23rd.


Have a great summer,
Sam :)

Friday, 27 July 2012

First Light Giveaway

Hey,

I'm ecstatic to have Samantha Summers, author of First Light, on the blog today! 

First Light (Project Five Fifteen #1)
First Light (Project Five Fifteen #1) by Samantha Summers
Release Date: May 28, 2012
What do you do when you've always dreamed of a hero; your knight in shining armour, only to find when he arrives he isn't a hero at all? ... He's a killer. 


Ronnie Rose is trying to cope with the loss of her father; now it looks like she might lose everything else that's dear to her too. Huge debts threaten to destroy her family, her childhood home and her future. Only one person cuts through her pain. Kalen Smith has just moved to town. He's trouble and everyone knows it. He and his mysterious friends keep to themselves and the town likes it that way. But when Kalen mourns at her dad's funeral, Ronnie wants to know why and her investigation plunges her into a dangerous world of murky government secrets, with deadly consequences. Ronnie knows she should walk away from Kalen before it's too late. Problem is, she's falling for him... 



Can we choose who we fall in love with?




You can check out my review of First Light right HERE! Now for my interview with Samantha Summers!

Where did the idea for First Light come from?
I've always wanted to write a story about a really tight-knit group of boys and have toyed with some different ways of doing that for a long time, but the concept really came together one day while I was watching a team of Parkour professionals on YouTube. Those guys are seriously incredible – it's as close as anyone is ever going to get to being Spiderman in real life – and it hit me straight away: those are the guys I want to write about! Obviously it took a bit of a twist from there, but they were definitely an inspiration.

Who is your favourite character from the book?
Kalen comes to mind straight away! But, I really love all of them, they are all so different. Laith is fun to write and Ronnie is very close to my heart. 

Are you working on any other projects?
I am currently working on finishing As You Were and Becoming (Books 2 & 3 in the Project Five Fifteen series), but I'm also toying with an idea for my next series. It's in very early stages at the moment though.

Who is your favourite YA author?
Great question! I have read so many amazing books over the years that it's difficult to choose. JK Rowling, JR Tolkien and James Marsden to name a few, however, more recently I've read some of Maggie Stiefvater's books and loved them. Her writing is beautiful. Sometimes I find myself re-reading paragraphs just to gawk, in awe.

Want to drop some hints on what might happen in As You Were, the sequel to First Light?
As You Were definitely steps it up a gear! There are some tough choices to be made and lets just say, not all of them end well. I'll leave it at that! 

In 10 words tell readers why they should read First Light.
Hmmm… Five hot guys who can all kick butt? :)

About the Author:

Samantha Summers
Born in London, an only child with an overactive imagination, Sam spent much of her childhood telling ghost stories to her younger cousins and dreaming about far away places. She graduated university with a BA in marketing, but it wasn't long before her passion for storytelling and travel got the better of her. She currently lives in Sydney, Australia, where you'll probably find her hidden away in the corner of a park somewhere - writing, reading, dreaming or watching movies on her iPad. She loves everything spy and assassin and has a slightly unhealthy obsession with Star Wars, mainly Darth Vader.

Sam has kindly offered some awesome stuff for a giveaway:

2 Signed copies of First Light
2 First Light T-Shirts
2 First Light Key chains

There will be 2 winners and will each win one of everything above. This giveaway is international.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Until next time,
Sam :)

Thursday, 26 July 2012

My review of Speechless

Speechless by Hannah Harrington
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

SpeechlessEveryone knows that Chelsea Knot can't keep a secret.

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast--and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea's has taken a vow of silence--to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting everyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets if hard, not speaking up when she's ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there's strength in silence, and in new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way. People she never noticed before. A boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she's done. If only she can forgive herself.


Speechless is a thought-provoking and stunningly written novel that will stay with readers for a long time. 

Chelsea Knot can't keep a secret. If you've got one, the whole school will know in a matter of minutes thanks to Chelsea. But the last secret she shared almost got someone killed and turned her into a social outcast. To stop herself from hurting the people around her, Chelsea has taken a vow of silence. Now she is picked and targeted on in the school hallways. Until something unexpected happens. She makes new friends and even meets a boy she might even fall for. But before she can move on, she must forgive herself.

When I read Hannah Harrington's debut novel Saving June, I completely fell in love with her writing and I could not contain my excitement when I heard that she had another book coming out this year. Speechless had me under a spell, I found it really hard to put it down. 

Speechless has a bunch of entertaining and unique characters. At first, I wasn't so keen on Chelsea, the main character. She didn't seem to care who she hurt when she opened her mouth, it was all about spreading the juiciest secret; being the center of attention while everyone crowds around her, eager to hear what she has to say. But, at the same time, I enjoyed her wit and all the funny things that she thought to her self. 


"No boy is worth that. Not even Brendon Ryan, whom I would do a number of immoral and insane things for, and who is quite possibly the love of my life even if he doesn't know it yet. We've been caught in a wildly passionate, completely one-sided affair since freshman year."
- Page 10 (Uncorrected Proof)

Chelsea is on a journey of being forgiven by her peers, but also forgiving herself. Taking a vow of silence? Come on, we've all tried not-talking for a day with NO success. I found Chelsea's story really interesting and I just couldn't get enough! 

 Overall, Speechless is a very enjoyable book, it's full of amazing characters, sweet romance and witty scenes. I would recommend this book to everyone who wants a gripping YA contemporary that won't disappoint. 
Rating
- A big thanks to Harlequin for providing me with a review copy!

Wednesday, 25 July 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (11)

Hey,


This week I'm waiting for...
Splintered
Splintered by A. G. Howard
Release Date: January 2013
For sixteen years, Alyssa Gardner has lived with the stigma of being descended from Alice Liddell—the real life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s famed novel, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. But cruel jokes about dormice and tea parties can’t compare to the fact that Alyssa hears the whispers of bugs and flowers... the same quirk which sent her mother to a mental institution years before.

When her mother takes a turn for the worse and the whispers grow too strong for Alyssa to bear, she seeks the origins of their family curse. A set of heirlooms and a moth tied to an unusual website lead Alyssa and her gorgeous best friend / secret crush, Jeb, down the rabbit hole into the real Wonderland, a place more twisted and eerie than Lewis Carroll ever let on.

There, creepy counterparts of the original fairytale crew reveal the purpose for Alyssa’s journey, and unless she fixes the things her great-great-great grandmother Alice put wrong, Wonderland will have her head.

I love the sound of this book! Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments!


Have a great week,

Sam :D

Tuesday, 24 July 2012

My review of Slide

Slide (Slide #1) by Jill Hathaway
Release Date: March 1, 2012 (UK), March 27, 2012 (US)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

SlideVee Bell is certain of one irrefutable truth--her sister's friend Sophie didn't kill herself. She was murdered.

Vee knows this because she was there. Everyone believes Vee is narcoleptic, but she doesn't actually fall asleep during these episodes: When she passes out, she slides into somebody else's mind and experiences the world through that person's eyes. She's slid into her sister as she cheated on a math test, into a teacher sneaking a drink before class. She learned the worst about a supposed "friend" when she slid into her during a school dance. But nothing could have prepared Vee for what happens one October night when she slides into the mind of someone holding a bloody knife, standing over Sophie's slashed body.

Vee desperately wishes she could share her secret, but who would believe her? It sounds so crazy that she can't bring herself to tell her best friend, Rollins, let alone the police. Even if she could confide in Rollins, he has been acting distant lately, especially now that she's been spending more time with Zane.

Enmeshed in a terrifying web of secrets, lies, and danger and with no one to turn to, Vee must find a way to unmask the killer before he or she strikes again.


Slide is a gripping mystery which will keep you guessing until the end. Thrilling, creepy and exciting, definitely pick up this short read if your in the mood to solve a puzzle.

Vee Bell is able to "slide" into people and see everything through their eyes. She's slid into her sister, her teacher, her friends but Vee never thought she'd slide and watch her friend dying on the floor. Vee is desperate to find out who the killer is and what she has to do to stop them. 

Vee wants to share her sliding secret with her best friend, Rollins, but she knows he'll think that she is crazy. Rollins and Vee are drifting further apart, especially now that she's spending more time with Zane. Vee must find the killer before he/she strikes again.

Slide was an extremely interesting read, I couldn't put it down! I enjoyed reading about this big killer mystery that needs to be solved by a girl with a cool ability. Vee was an intriguing character, she made stupid decisions at times and her lack of enthusiasm did not impress me.

I did, however, enjoy the twist at the end. I didn't expect it AT ALL! Hathaway had me guessing time and time again through out the book but in the end my guesses were completely wrong. 

I would have liked an explanation for why can Vee slide into other people. Why is this happening to her? How did she get this ability? There's so many questions that have been left unanswered, so I really hope all will be solved in the sequel, Impostor.

I would recommend this book to people who don't like to read long books and would like a book that will hold their attention. I'm very interested to see how the sequel ties in with Slide.
Rating

Monday, 23 July 2012

My review of Anna Dressed in Blood

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna #1) by Kendare Blake
Release Date:
July 5, 2012 (UK), August 30, 2011 (US)

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story...

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead. 

So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

And she, for whatever reason, spares his life.


Anna Dressed in Blood is an exciting and terrifying novel that will leave readers breathless and prepared for more. Looking for a frightful summer read? Then pick up this book. 

Cas isn't a normal teenager. He has a job to hunt and kill the dead who still haunt at the place of their death. When Cas and his mum move to a new town, Cas has his mind set on a very famous ghost: Anna Dressed in Blood. He's only heard rumors and stories. Anna has killed every single person who has entered her home. So when Cas and his school mates visit the house Anna does something no ones expects. She spares his life.

I found this book really interesting and completely gripping. This book is told from a male's POV, which is great because YA fiction needs more of them. It's all one exciting and scary-as-hell roller-coaster. Get ready for blood, guts and a whole load of ghosts.

Cas is strong, determined and brave. I loved reading the scenes between him and Anna when they have the chance to talk to each other. His life is extremely intriguing and sad at the same time. He was not able to have a decent childhood due to the fact that he has the duty to kill ghosts. 

I loved the suspense, the mystery, the action, the romance and the characters. One thing I didn't like so much was the book started pretty slow and I was waiting for something exciting to happen 60 pages in. The book did get more interesting but it felt like the plot was going round in circles a bit. I would have liked to see more talking going on between Anna and Cas but I guess I'll have to wait for the sequel.

Overall, Anna Dressed in Blood is one of the most freakiest books I've ever read! It had me biting my nails and checking behind doors after I'd read it. A definite recommend. I can not wait to read Girl of Nightmares.
Rating

- A big thanks to Orchard books for sending me a review copy!

Saturday, 21 July 2012

Book Haul (#9)

Hey,


Here are the books that I have received/bought/borrowed/won this week:
Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)The Gathering Dark
Thank you Orchard books! I've been waiting for this one for a long time, from what I've read so far, it's really good.
I bought this one and can not wait to start this one, it looks amazing. I've only heard good things about The Gathering Dark, I think it's called Shadow and Bone in the US.

Onyx (Lux, #2)Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)
Thank you, Doris! I won a paperback of Onyx on her Twitter giveaway. I've already read Onyx and it is absolutely AMAZING! My review will be posted some time in August.
Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl - Borrowed -
I read this one not long ago and, I'm not going to lie, I absolutely hated it. I've decided to give it another go. 

So that's my book haul for this week, leave a link in the comments to your book haul and I'll check it out!



Have a great weekend,
- Sam :D

My review of Chain Reaction

Chain Reaction (Perfect Chemistry #3) by Simone Elkeles
Release Date: July 5, 2012 (UK), August 16th 2011 (US)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Chain Reaction (Perfect Chemistry, #3)Like his brothers, Luis Fuentes is a risk taker; whether he's scaling the Rocky Mountains or dreaming of a future as an astronaut, Luis is always looking for the next thrill. Nikki Cruz lives her life by certain rules -, don't trust a boy who says "I love you", boys lie to get their own way and never date a boy from the south side of Fairfield. Then she meets Luis at his brother Alex's wedding and suddenly she's tempted to break all her rules. Getting Nikki to give him a chance is Luis's biggest challenge, until he finds himself targeted by the head of the gang that nearly destroyed his brothers' lives. Will Luis's feelings for Nikki be enough to stop him from entering a dark and violent world that could prove to be the ultimate risk?

Chain Reaction is the final novel in the much-loved Perfect Chemistry series. Written from the point of view of the youngest Fuentes brother, Luis Fuentes will steal your heart just like his brothers' did. Funny, gripping and totally unputdownable!

Luis Fuentes is a risk taker, he loves the adrenaline rush that runs through his veins when he takes the ultimate risk. Nikki Cruz has been made a full of once by a boy who said "I love you" and she is sure as hell not going to let it happen again. Then she meets Luis at Alex's wedding and she's tempted to break her rule. Luis and Nikki meet each other two years later, and well...sparks start to fly.

I love, love, love the first two books, they are incredible! I had to wait a whole year for this one to come out in the UK and boy was it worth the wait. Elkeles has delivered everything readers want on a gold plate. Be prepared to fall endlessly in love with this Fuentes brother.

Luis is determined, hot and clever. He tries his best to not follow in his brother's footsteps because he has a goal; he wants to be an astronaut. I know, I know, the hot Mexican wants to be an astronaut, don't judge. I really admire his courage, strength and the lengths he would go to to protect his family. 

When he meets Nikki, he turns his charm on and it is absolutely hilarious. I can guarantee that you will laugh uncontrollably at some point in this book. The characters are witty and very entertaining. If you have not read this series then go and buy it now! However much it costs, IT'S WORTH IT! 

Overall, Chain Reaction is the perfect conclusion to this trilogy. The Perfect Chemistry trilogy has been an exciting and thrilling roller-coaster that will stay with me for a very long time. I would recommend this series to everyone and I cannot wait to read more of Simone Elkeles' works.

Rating

Thursday, 19 July 2012

Onyx Teaser

Hey,


Onyx (Lux, #2)
I've missed quite a few 'Teaser Tuesday' posts and thought I should make it up to you call by posting a teaser from Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout, the sequel to Obsidian.

Crossing the room, he stopped infront of me. "I'm not going to bite."
"That's good."
"Unless you want me to," He said with a devilish grin.

Make sure you pre-order this one because it's released on August 14th. Expect my review at the start of August!


Have a great day,
Sam :)

Wednesday, 18 July 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (10)

Hey,


This week I'm waiting for...
Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2)
Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: February 13, 2013
This book will feature Cinder and Little Red Riding Hood and will take place in France.

Cinder returns in the second thrilling installment of the New York Times-bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother and the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she has no choice but to trust him, though he clearly has a few dark secrets of his own.

As Scarlet and Wolf work to unravel one mystery, they find another when they cross paths with Cinder. Together, they must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen who will do anything to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner.

I'm really excited about this one! I enjoyed Cinder A LOT and I can't wait to find out what happens in this very good looking sequel.

Leave a link to your WoW post in the comments below!
Sam :D

JLA Reading Challenge

Hey,


I want to tell you guys about the upcoming Jennifer L. Armentrout Reading Challenge.


Vivian at Deity Island is hosting this it sound likes SO MUCH fun! Make sure you click the button above to check out the rules.

All you have to do is (re)read all of JLA's books and post a NEW review/post about it from August 1st-December 31st, 2012. Each month, a new post will go up explaining which book(s) to read and a Linky List will be provided for you to add your review/post. At the end of each month, Vivian will be giving away one of Jen's books to one lucky person who links up their review/post.

August 1st-31st 

- (Re)Read the Lux series: Obsidian, Shadows, Onyx 
- Post your thoughts or a NEW review about any/all of the books on any of the outlets listed below
- Add your link to the linky to be entered to win a copy of Cursed

September 17th-October 18th*
- (Re)Read Cursed
- Post your thoughts or a NEW review about it on any of the outlets listed below
- Add your link to the linky to be entered to win a copy of Unchained

October 15th-November 16th*
- (Re)Read Unchained
- Post your thoughts or a NEW review about it on any of the outlets listed below
- Add your link to the linky to be entered to win a copy of Deity

November 1st-30th 
- (Re)Read the Covenant Series: Daimon, Half-Blood, Pure, Deity, Elixir
- Post your thoughts or a NEW review about any/all of the books on any of the outlets listed below
- Add your link to the linky to be entered to win ONE of THREE ebook copies of Tempting the Best Man

December 1st-31st
- (Re)Read Tempting the Best Man
- Post your thoughts or a NEW review about it on any of the outlets listed
- Add your link to the linky to be entered to win a copy of Opal


BUT! Yes, there's a but, you must check out the rules HERE!

Make sure you sign up,
Sam :)

Monday, 16 July 2012

My review of Rules of Attraction

Rules of Attraction (Perfect Chemistry #2) by Simone Elkeles
Release Date: April 13, 2010
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Rules of Attraction (Perfect Chemistry, #2)When Carlos Fuentes returns to America after living in Mexico for the past year, he doesn't want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him in Colorado. When he meets Kiara Westford, a good girl totally unlike any of the girls he's usually drawn to, Carlos assumes Kiara thinks she's too good for him. But will he put his pride aside when he realizes that being with Kiara might finally allow him to be his true self?


Rules of Attraction is the sequel to Perfect Chemistry, a fan favorite around the world. Full of to-die-for romance and exciting characters, fans of the first book will eat this one up!


This book is about Alex's younger brother, Carlos, who just can't stop getting into trouble. Carlos Fuentes is sent to live with his brother in America with specific orders from his mother to not get into any trouble. But when he meets Kiara Westford, a good girl with nothing but good grades, Carlos can't help but feel drawn to her. Carlos knows he could never have her but no one can stop him from going after what he wants after he's set his eye his prey.


After I found out that Perfect Chemistry had a sequel I just had to read it. I never expected to enjoy this one as much as the first, but I did. Carlos Fuentes is just as entertaining and good-looking as Alex. It was great to see that Alex and Brittany still play a part in the story. And the plot? It will keep you hooked until the end. The romance? Unforgettable.


I really enjoyed the characters in this book; they were all so funny and made me laugh hysterically! Simone Elkeles really does know how to develop some lovable characters. I fell in love with all of them, especially Kiara. She's strong and trusting, she tries her best in everything she does and will stand up for what she thinks is right. I loved reading about her relationship with Carlos. He is an ENDLESS flirt! That's definitely one thing I love about the Fuentes brothers. I liked how Kiara and Carlos got to know each other and bonded throughout the book.

If you have not heard of Simone Elkeles or read any of her books then this is all I have to say to you: WHAT PLANET HAVE YOU BEEN LIVING ON?! She is one of the best YA contemporary authors around. Be ASHAMED!


Overall, Rules of Attraction is a very worthy sequel that I think all fans of YA contemporary should buy and read as soon as possible, but I would advise you to read the first book to get to know the characters a bit better.

Rating