Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Let The Sky Fall - Cover

Hey!


I found this really cool cover that I wanted to share with you all.....


Let the Sky Fall
Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston is the only survivor of the category five tornado that killed his parents. Every night since the storm, a beautiful, dark-haired girl has swept through his dreams. She's the only clue to his past, and he clings to the hope that she's real.

Audra is real, but she's also a sylph. An air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even twist it into a weapon. She's also a guardian--Vane's guardian--and has sworn an oath to protect him at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra must help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim--the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock a memory Audra wishes could be erased. And as the storm bears down on them she starts to realize the greatest danger might not be the warriors coming to destroy them, but the forbidden romance that's grown between them.

Set amongst the desert airstreams of Coachella Valley in California, and alive with wonderful wind-swept prose, LET THE SKY FALL is about two teenagers broken by their pasts, divided by their futures, and bound by love.

It's releasing in March 2013, which I know is a very LONG way, away but isn't the cover awesome? 

Add it to your Goodreads shelf HERE!

Until next time,
Sam :)

Tuesday, 29 May 2012

My review of Sweet Evil

Sweet Evil (Sweet Trilogy #1) by Wendy Higgins 
Release Date: May 1, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

Sweet Evil is a unique and clever take on angels and demons. It's filled with romance and scenes that will make you laugh uncontrollably! If your looking for a good book to buy...BUY THIS ONE! I know there is quite a few angel/demon books in the young-adult genre at the moment, but I can guarantee that you won't be expecting what Sweet Evil has under it's pretty cover. 

Sweet Evil follows the story of a young girl, Anna Whitt, who isn't as ordinary as she might like. She can see and feel other's emotions. When Anna visits a nearby club with her best friend, Jay, she discovers the intriguing, Kaidan. He's different from the other boys that Anna's met - apart from the fact that he's drop-dead gorgeous - she can't see his emotions. He knows something about Anna that she doesn't even know about herself. Anna knows she should keep her distance but going on a road trip with the son of Lust isn't going to help that matter...

Anna was a really fun and interesting character to read about. She's not the strongest or the bravest, instead, she's very innocent and respectful. Basically, she's a good girl. There were times in the book when we saw her, which I found extremely amusing! 

And obviously a YA book couldn't grab the attention of many without a love interest! In this book, it's Kaidan! Hot, British accent, blue eyes, all round perfect?


"He was smoking hot. As in H-O-T-T, hott. I’d never understood until that moment why girls insisted on adding an extra t. This guy was extra-t-worthy." - Page 13.

He reminds me a lot of Daemon Black from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, they are similar in so many ways: personalities, actions, decisions, etc. Kaidan is one of those characters that will have a girl swooning when he let's his guard down but when that guard is up, be prepared to face a jerk. I don't want to go into too much detail of Kaidan's character because I don't want to ruin the book for you. So here's 3 words: Son. Of. Lust.

Sweet Evil has an ending that will leave readers waiting in agony for the sequel. If you only read one angel/demon book this year, make sure it's Sweet Evil! Wendy Higgins has created a dangerous world that I just want to delve into. This is one of my favourite reads of all time, I will definitely be shoving this book in my friends' faces.


Rating

Monday, 28 May 2012

My review of Dark Kiss

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers #1) by Michelle Rowen 
Release Date: May 29, 2012 
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers, #1)I don't do dangerous.  Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that's me. But I just couldn't pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me...something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It's like part of me is missing-and I don't know if I can get it back. Then there's Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he's keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he's what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me.... NIGHTWATCHERS When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising...


Dark Kiss is a thrilling addition to the paranormal romance genre! A fast paced and action packed book that most young-adult readers will enjoy if you like dark/mysterious plots. 

I think that this is a very interesting take on angels and demons. Sure, on the surface this book might look like the typical heaven and hell conflict, but it's not! It's so much more than that! Two angels and two demons sent to earth with the task to assassinate all Greys; body's without souls that can take one's soul with just one kiss. Samantha's had one of those kisses...and now she's a Grey. She doesn't know how special she is until she meets one of the angels: Bishop. They have an invisible attraction that no one can explain. But Bishop can't give into that attraction. He's been sent to earth with one task only, but can this intriguing girl change his mind?

Samantha is one of those characters that you can easily like and get used to. Her courage and determination will definitely appeal to some people who like strong heroines. Her relationship with her best friend, Carly, is also very admirable. Sam will not let anything happen to her best friend and she will go to extreme lengths to keep Carly safe.

Bishop is certainly a mysterious one. He has a lot of secrets that I wanted him to spill! Imagine Edward Cullen....but an angel....with blue eyes, dark hair....and a better personality! Yep, that's Bishop! The demon he was sent to complete his task with, Kraven, was a very interesting demon! He had a sense of humour that will keep you laughing ALL the way through! I couldn't get enough of his killer smile and amazing green eyes....sexy demon.

Overall, I think all paranormal readers should give this one a go! Romance and action, a perfect combination in Dark Kiss, and written so beautifully by Michelle Rowen! She's written another demon series that I will definitely be checking out!

Rating
- A special thanks to Harlequin UK/Mira Ink for sending me a review copy!

Saturday, 26 May 2012

Book Haul (#2)

Hey,


This week I received/bought/borrowed:
Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers, #1)Front CoverSweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)Partials (Partials, #1)The Calling (Darkness Rising, #2)
Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers #1) by Michelle Rowen - Received - I've just finished this one, it was AMAZING! My review will be up soon!
Dark Lord: The Teenage Years by Jaime Thomson - Received - This one was unexpected. I received this one from Hachette's Review Crew programme, not the type of book that I'd go for but I'll give it a go!
Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy #1) by Wendy Higgins - Bought - Can't wait to start this! I've heard lots of good things about this one.
Partials (Partials #1) by Dan Wells - Borrowed - I'm loving the cover! I'm always looking for a good dystopian.
Angel Fire (Angel #2) by L.A Weatherly - Borrowed - I read the first one and fell head over heals for it, I can't wait to start this one. 
The Calling (Darkness Rising #2) by Kelley Armstrong - Borrowed - A really cool cover! I enjoyed the first one and I've heard lots of great things about this one.


What did you get this week? Leave links in the comments!


Until next time,
Sam :)

My review of Out of Sight, Out of Time

Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls #5) by Ally Carter
Release Date: March 13, 2012 (US), April 5, 2012 (UK)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls, #5)The last thing Cammie Morgan remembers is leaving the Gallagher Academy to protect her friends and family. But when Cammie wakes up in an alpine convent and discovers months have passed, her memory is a black hole. The only traces left of Cammie’s summer vacation are the bruises on her body and dirt under her nails. 


All she wants is to go home. But even the Gallagher Academy now holds more questions than answers as Cammie and her friends face their most difficult challenge yet. With only their training and a few clues to guide them, the girls go in search of answers on the other side of the world. But the Circle is hot on their trail and will stop at nothing to prevent Cammie from remembering what she did last summer.


Out of Sight, Out of Time is the fifth book in the best selling Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter. Many around the world have fallen in love with these exciting and fast-paced books, if you haven't tried this series yet then....get reading!


In this thrilling instalment, Cammie can't remember what happened all summer. She woke up in the middle of no where and the big question that everyone wants Cammie to answer is: What happened to you? When Cammie gets back to school more problems rise to the surface, the Circle are following her. Spies. Everywhere. Ready to jump out as soon as Cammie remembers what she did last summer...

I really, really enjoy all the characters in this series, especially....Zachary Goode. He brightened up the book and made it all worth while. He is kind, strong, confident, hot and just all round amazing. Cammie and her friends were a delight to read about, I loved their adventures and mischievous plans!

One thing this book lacked was description. When I felt an interesting scene coming on, Ally just stated. Example:
"Zach was shirtless."
Yep, that's all Cammie thought! I wanted to know more! YES, he was shirtless! Woop-dee-doo! But what was his stomach like? He's meant to be a spy so is he totally ripped? I don't know because Cammie never told me! Come on, what kind of girl is she? All girls stare right? 

So, you see my problem. I also found it hard to picture the characters in my head, because of the lack of description, I didn't really know what they looked liked. Macey is pretty. Liz is geeky. Okay, but can we have a little bit more information? I know that too much description is boring, blah, blah, blah, but it would have been nice to at least know what the main character looks like.

I really do like this series, and sure, the description let's it down, but behind it all the book is actually very unique and I can't get enough of the exciting plot lines that Ally Carter comes up with!

I'm going to stop complaining and just say that this series is perfect for young, young adult readers who would probably enjoy Ally's writing style more than I do. If you love a good spy world with plenty of thrilling mysteries, pick up these books!

Rating

Friday, 25 May 2012

Days of Blood and Starlight - Cover

Hey,


Have you seen the gorgeous cover for the sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone? Well, here it is!


Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #2)
Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2) by Laini Taylor
Release Date: November 6, 2012

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she'll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.

I still haven't read Daughter of Smoke and Bone......
Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)
It's won lots of awards and is on many readers' 2011-Favourites lists! I've read plenty of positive reviews so I think I'll be checking this one out as soon as possible! What do you think of the covers?

Until next time, 
Sam :)

Thursday, 24 May 2012

Splash into Summer Giveaway Hop

Hey,


This is the 2nd Annual Splash into Summer Giveaway Hop! Hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Page Turners Blog.

For this giveaway I will let ONE winner pick ONE book of their choice. This is INTERNATIONAL as long as THE BOOK DEPOSITORY ships to you.

******GIVEAWAY CLOSED**********
Winner: Charlie C.  - Email me back ASAP!


Check out the other blogs!


Until next time, 
Sam :)

Wednesday, 23 May 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (7)

Hey,


This week I can't wait to read this.....
The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #1)
The Lost Prince (Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1) by Julie Kagawa
Release Date: October 23, 2012

For those who have read the Iron Fey series I'm sure you are excited, but for those who have not read the series....go read them! NOOOOOOW!

Anyway, back to the cover. Just look at it. 

Finished drooling? Now look at the release date. I'm pretty sure your feeling like this:

Got all the rage out? Now you just have to sit back and wait for October.


I can't wait for the release of this one!! Leave a link to your WoW post and I'll check it out!

Until next time,
Sam :)

Tuesday, 22 May 2012

My review of The Future of Us

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
Release Date: January 5, 2012 (UK), November 21, 2011 (US)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


The Future of UsIt's 1996 and very few high school students have ever used the internet. Facebook will not be invented until several years in the future. Emma just got a computer and an America Online CD. She and her best friend Josh power it up and log on - and discover themselves on Facebook in 2011. Everybody wonders what they'll be like fifteen years in the future. Josh and Emma are about to find out.


The Future of Us is an interesting novel, set in 1996 with a strange twist that will make you wonder if the future really is set in stone.


The book is told from the POV of two best friends, Josh and Emma. Josh gives Emma a CD that introduces her to a page called 'Facebook', she then finds out that the account has already been made for her. The future her - 30 years old and living a terrible life. Emma is tempted to change the future by changing her every day routines. But what she doesn't realise is that the future is unpredictable and that her actions may damage her friendship. 


The story line was very fun and, after time, got used to the characters' voices and personalities. Emma wasn't my ideal character when I first met her - she was winy, predictable and just really annoying. She freaked out for no reason and I just found myself nodding my head, thinking, 'When is this going to get more exciting?", but the book did get better and I managed to finish it!

I've heard many great things about Jay Asher, but I don't think I enjoyed this one as much as I thought I would. I think I'll have to try out his other book, Thirteen Reasons Why, because I really do believe that that book is better than this one (judging from all the amazing things I've heard about it.)


Overall, The Future of Us is a unique novel that I think you should try out, it's a great read to fill your time! If your looking for a novel to keep you entertained then I would recommend you pick this one up from your local library. 

Rating

Sunday, 20 May 2012

Cover Reveal: My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century

Hey,


I'm very excited to show you the new gorgeous cover for My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris.



On the precipice of her sixteenth birthday, the last thing lone wolf Cat Crawford wants is an extravagant gala thrown by her bubbly stepmother and well-meaning father. So even though Cat knows the family’s trip to Florence, Italy, is a peace offering, she embraces the magical city and all it offers. But when her curiosity leads her to an unusual gypsy tent, she exits . . . right into Renaissance Firenze



Thrust into the sixteenth century armed with only a backpack full of contraband future items, Cat joins up with her ancestors, the sweet Alessandra and protective Cipriano, and soon falls for the gorgeous aspiring artist Lorenzo. But when the much-older Niccolo starts sniffing around, Cat realizes that an unwanted birthday party is nothing compared to an unwanted suitor full of creeptastic amore



Can she find her way back to modern times before her Italian adventure turns into an Italian forever?




You can also enter the giveaway to win some awesome swag!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Until next time,
Sam :)

My review of A Million Suns

A Million Suns (Across The Universe #2) by Beth Revis
Release Date: January 10, 2012 (US), April 5, 2012 (UK)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


A Million Suns (Across the Universe, #2)Godspeed was once fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos. It’s been three months. In that time, Amy has learned to hide who she is. Elder is trying to be the leader he’s always wanted to be. But as the ship gets more and more out of control, only one thing is certain: They have to get off the ship.



A Million Suns is such a unique book. I know you can say that about many books but this book is TRULY unique. Seriously, have you read any other book where people are stuck in a ship floating around in space? I have not read any other book that is set in space (except the first book, of course) and I think it is safe to say, after reading this book, that Beth Revis' future projects are going to be mind-blowing.


If you've never heard of this trilogy before and would like to try out it out, I would strongly recommend you to stop reading this review and buy the first book, Across The Universe. Don't think that you can just start reading A Million Suns without knowing what happened at the start. Plus, I'm sure you wouldn't want to ruin such an amazing trilogy by starting in the middle, would you?


A Million Suns pretty much picks up from where Across The Universe left off. Amy is still stuck on Godspeed and trying her best to hide who she is. It's been three months since Eldest died and Elder is trying to be the leader that the people on Godspeed deserve, it's not been easy. With innocent citizens dying and warning messages popping up everywhere, Elder does not want to give up. But with food supplies, water and faith running low, can Amy and Elder find the secret to getting to their destination? 


This book was full of surprises and twists. And when I say full, I really do mean FULL. Every single page was unpredictable, and that's what I love about these books. I can NEVER guess what's going to be around the corner. 


The main characters, Elder and Amy? I couldn't get enough of them. I really how the chapters are broken up between them. I enjoy being inside both of their heads! It's especially nice to see how the characters feel about each other. Elder and Amy's relationship is very interesting. The flirting, the comments, it's all very cute but I couldn't wait for them to just spill their hearts out! 


You know when you read a book and you find out there's going to be a sequel and you can immediately tell what's going to happen next? That is called a dull and lifeless book. Well, I have absolutely no idea what's going to happen in Shades of Earth, book #3. Beth Revis can just pull something jaw-dropping out of her tiny bag of great ideas and surprise us all. And that's what makes her books sofreakingamazing.


Overall, A Million Suns is a book that all young-adult lovers should try out! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a book that they won't be able to put down. I can't wait to read Shades of Earth and see what surprises Beth Revis has up her sleeve.....


Rating

Saturday, 19 May 2012

Seeking Crystal Teasers

Hey,


I know that there are a lot of people out there who are serious fans of the Benedict series. The first two books are out, Finding Sky and Stealing Pheonix, and the 3rd book will be released in October 2012, Seeking CrystalAnd because I know you Benedict fans are just desperate to read a little bit of Seeking Crystal, I have decided to post a few teasers every few weeks.


Finding Sky (Benedict, #1)Stealing Phoenix (Benedict, #2)Seeking Crystal (Benedict, #3)

I have also decided to post teasers because I have just reached 1000 followers! YAY! Thank you for following and supporting my blog! I am getting a big giveaway together, watch out for that!


Without further ado, here are the teasers you have been waiting for:


"Xav reeled theoretically with a second dose of surprise. 'Whoa, your one big lady. I mean tall lady. I bet you never had any problem making the basketball team in school?'"


"'Diamond's the same. But look at me, Xav, and tell me what you think is going on here. I saw your brother and my sister - bang: instant link, just like that.' I studied my nails; I'd managed to get them French polished so could pretend to admire them. 'I don't quite see that for us, do you?'


"He forced himself to look back at me. 'Cupcake, you look good enough to eat as I'm sure you know. Be careful: I don't want to have to rush to your rescue when you get overwhelmed with admirers. I don't trust these guys.'


And the last one:


"The front door to the shop banged open.
'Crystal!'
Damn, damn, damn - it was Xav. I ducked my head. Signora Carriera, who had got up when the bell to serve the customer, raised a brow.
'That's your young man, isn't it?'
Not exactly my young man. 'Is it?' I croaked.
'Crystal, I know you're here,' Xav bellowed.
The signora checked her watch. 'Why don't you take your lunch break? It sounds like he has something to get off his chest.'
'Aren't we busy?' Please let us be busy.
'Crystal.' The signora looked disappointed in me. If he wants to make a fuss, I'd prefer it to happen off the premises. I do have a business to run.'
With a sigh, I got up. I couldn't refuse her. By the end of the day, Signora Carriera might be my only friend in Venice.
I breezed into the showroom. 'Hi, Xav.'
He slapped a newspaper down on the counter, folded back to the gossip column. 'What the hell is this?'"


I can't post too many! Joss Stirling and the Oxford Press would kill me! Don't forget to add Seeking Crystal to you Goodreads to-read list HERE! I also posted a teaser a few weeks back that you can check out HERE!


Until next time, 
Sam :)

Friday, 18 May 2012

My review of All These Things I've Done

All These Things I've Done (Birthright #1) by Gabrielle Zevin
Release Date: March 29, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository

All These Things I've Done (Birthright, #1)Sixteen year-old Anya becomes the head of a mafia family after her parents are both murdered by rival gangs. Although Anya is embroiled in the criminal world, she is determined to keep her brother and sister out of the mafia family, but her father’s relatives aren’t so keen to let them go. When Anya’s violent ex-boyfriend is poisoned with contaminated chocolate – chocolate that is produced illegally by Anya’s mafia family – she is arrested for attempted murder and sent to the notorious jail on Manhattan Island.

Eventually she is freed by the new D.A. in town, who believes she has been framed. But this D.A. is the father of Win, a boy at school to whom Anya feels irresistibly drawn, and her freedom comes with conditions. Win’s father wants to be mayor, and he can’t risk having his ambition jeopardized by rumors spreading that his son is seeing a member of a notorious crime family. Anya knows she risks the safety of her family by seeing Win again, but the feeling between them may be too strong to resist...


All These Things I've Done is a new take on the dystopian genre. In a world where chocolate is banned? Who wouldn't want to read about that? This is the first book in the Birthright series that you will either love or...not get along with.

Set in New York City, 2083, 16-year-old Anya is the one keeping her family together. Her parents died in a car crash. Her older brother is suffering from that accident. Her grandmother is dying. What does she do? She does the best she can to keep her family safe, but when her ex-boyfriend is poisoned by the chocolate that Anya gave him, she is an immediate suspect. A few weeks later she meets Will, a charming young boy who is genuinely interested in her, but Anya knows she can never make that feeling mutual. Win's father is the new D.A and he does not want Anya messing up his chances to be mayor by ruining his family's reputation. Can Anya take this risk?

All These Things I've Done wasn't anything like I thought it would be. The plot line was predictable, the main character was boring, and the list just goes on and on. I must say, I really liked the idea for the book when I read the blurb; the romance sounded interesting and, well, overall I just couldn't wait to get my hands on it! Sadly, the book did not live up to my expectations. 

I didn't enjoy the Gabrielle's writing style or the way she built up her characters, I probably skim read 3/4 of the book because I couldn't stand to read another word of Anya's thoughts. Okay, sure, the book wasn't entirely bad, I still found positive moments that I cherished for as long as humanly possible. One character in particular encouraged me to finish the book: Win. He was nice and, at times, funny. I thoroughly enjoyed his personality! And if you want me to be honest, I skim read the book just to find bits to read with him in it. I can't help it! The girl, Anya, drove me nuts. "No, sorry, I can't do this, I'm pure, I have to save myself!", WELL YOUR NOT DOING A GOOD JOB ARE YOU? FLIRTING WITH WIN ISN'T GOING TO HELP THAT PURENESS, IS IT?! The answer: NO.

I'm not saying you shouldn't try out this book, I'm just saying that I don't think that this book will satisfy reader's high expectations now-a-days. I'm going to read the sequel, not because I'm desperately aching to find out what happens, more along the lines of wanting to see if the series does get any better. So, give this a go and let me know!

Rating

Thursday, 17 May 2012

Love in Bloom Giveaway Hop

Hey!


For this giveaway ONE winner can pick ONE book from the list below. It is international as long as the book depository ships to you! :D

Twenty Boy SummerBittersweetAmy and Roger's Epic Detour
The Sky Is EverywhereThe Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer, #1)The Summer of Skinny Dipping (Summer, #1)

Just fill out the rafflecopter below!


**********GIVEAWAY CLOSED***********
Winner: Paige L. 
Check your email ASAP!

Check out the other giveaways:


Until next time, 
Sam :)

Wednesday, 16 May 2012

My review of Arise

Arise (Hereafter #2) by Tara Hudson
Release Date: June 5, 2012 (US), July 5, 2012 (UK)
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Arise (Hereafter #2)Amelia—still caught between life and death—must fight for every moment of her relationship with the human boy Joshua. They can hardly even kiss without Amelia accidentally dematerializing. Looking for answers, they go to visit some of Joshua’s Seer relatives in New Orleans. But even in a city so famously steeped in the supernatural, Amelia ends up with more questions than answers…and becomes increasingly convinced that she and Joshua can never have a future together.


Wandering through the French Quarter, Amelia meets other in-between ghosts, and begins to seriously consider joining them. And then she meets Gabrielle. Somehow, against impossible odds, Gaby has found a way to live a sort of half-life...a half-life for which Amelia would pay any price. Torn between two worlds, Amelia must choose carefully, before the evil spirits of the netherworld choose for her.


Arise is the chilling sequel to Hereafter; a much-loved ghost book that has been enjoyed by many readers and has set the bar high in the paranormal genre.


I really enjoyed Arise's plot; Amelia is trying to deal with her complicated relationship with her boyfriend, Joshua. It isn't a normal relationship, Amelia is a ghost, but Joshua isn't. Amelia can hardly kiss Joshua with out de-materializing to some random place. She is convinced that she is ruining Joshua's chances of ever having a normal life and that their relationship could never work. When she finds out that demons are out to get her and everyone else she loves.....she knows it's time to leave. Leave everything. Leave everyone. Leave Joshua.

Amelia has changed a lot since the first time we met her at the river in Hereafter, she has become more confident and grown stronger inside and out. She's ready to take risks and sacrifice anything to keep her loved ones safe. And the most important point of all, I love her relationship with Joshua! It's so true and it feels so real and, damn, I just love them two! I wouldn't have minded if the whole book was about their ever-so-swoon-worthy relationship.

I don't think I enjoyed Arise as much as Hereafter. The book was very slow paced at times and felt slightly draggy. Apart from that the book was amazing. The reason why I enjoyed Hereafter more was probably because I liked how unique and fresh the story was, I also loved meeting all the characters and reading the mystery scenes. Arise has less of that, we met new characters but they were all pretty predictable. Fortunately, the dialogue and description makes up for that.

I am a big fan of the Hereafter trilogy, it's probably my favourite ghost series. If you have not read Hereafter then I strongly recommend you go to the book shop and buy it right now! The plot will get your heart racing and the characters are just a joy to read about, and on top of all that you get a gorgeous cover!

Overall, Arise is a book that ghost lovers will devour. A sequel that no Hereafter fan should miss and most importantly, a book that everyone should have on their shelves. No reader's ghost experience would be complete with out reading this trilogy. Tara Hudson is a pro at writing scenes that will drive you crazy and leave you wanting more. I can't wait for what book 3 has in store for us!!

Rating
- Thank you HarperTeen for providing me with a review copy!

Monday, 14 May 2012

My review of Confessions of an Average Half-Vampire

Confessions of an Average Half-Vampire by Lisa Shafer
Release Date: February 24th, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon 

Confessions of an Average Half-Vampire (Book 1)Lurking in the nuclei of a few rare human cells is an as-yet unstudied gene. It is a gene that makes the inheritor crave mammal blood and faint in bright sunlight. It is a gene that prevents the bearer from appearing normally in digital or mirror images. 
It’s a gene that makes life heck if you’re in junior high and trying to fit in. 

Eric Wright is a half-vampire with a problem. Several problems, actually. He can’t tell bloodlust from his rollercoaster adolescent hormones. The cutest girl in first period English wants him to become a vegetarian. And the assistant principal suspends him when he refuses to explain why his skin appears translucent in a school security video.

Then Eric’s non-vampire mom, who’s definitely not telling everything she knows, takes him with her on a business trip. To Scotland, where it never stays sunny for very long. The perfect hang out for a vampire. Or several. If only Eric can find one to talk to before he makes any more stupid mistakes....



Confessions of an Average Half-Vampire is an entertaining novel that is perfect for younger readers who want to start reading the paranormal genre. 


It all starts with the all-too-lovable main character, Eric Wright. He is not an ordinary teenager, he is a half-vampire trying to find the right place for him in a world that can never accept him. Everything starts to go down hill when he could not control his bloodlust and bit his friend. A very close friend. A girl who wants him to become a vegetarian. With his health getting worse every day, will Eric find someone that could help him without getting killed in the process?


 I think this book is perfect for those who are not quite old enough to read the Twilight novels. It has the most interesting range of characters that I'm sure many readers can relate to. Eg: the awkward stage when you don't feel that you fit in, worried about being accepted by friends, etc. The characters will definitely grow on you! And so will their adventures. The book is full of action! Yes, the action is just so....wow....it had my heart racing! You will want to read the sequel as soon as possible.


The book does follow the cliché vampire line: burned by the sun, pale, not showing in mirrors, etc. But I had no problem with that because of the gripping story line! This is definitely a book that I would recommend to young people, like right now!


Overall, I think that this is stunning book with a really exciting plot and humorous dialogue! I can't wait to read more of Lisa's works.

Rating
- A special thanks to Lisa for sending me a review copy! 

Saturday, 12 May 2012

Book Haul (#1)

Hey!

We've all heard about The Story Siren drama, right? So, I've decided just to do a normal book haul! :)
For Review:
Saving JuneConfessions of an Average Half-Vampire (Book 1)Beautiful Music for Ugly Children
Saving June by Hannah Harrington - I'm excited to be taking part in the book tour! The cover looks really cute!
Confessions of an Average Half-Vampire by Lisa Shafer - I've read a few chapters and it's really funny. I think I'll enjoy the rest of it.
Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills - The cover looks very interesting. Can't wait to start reading.

From the Library:
Abandon (Abandon Trilogy #1)All These Things I've Done (Birthright, #1)
Abandon by Meg Cabot - I've heard mixed reviews about this one, so I'm interested in seeing how it goes.
All These Things I've Done by Gabrielle Zevin - This one also has mixed reviews.

Until next time, 
Sam :)

My review of Wings of the Wicked

Wings of the Wicked (Angelfire #2) by Courtney Allison Moulton
Release Date: January 31, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Wings of the Wicked (Angelfire, #2)Life as the Preliator is harder than Ellie ever imagined.
Balancing real life with the responsibility of being Heaven’s warrior is a challenge for Ellie. Her relationship with Will has become all business, though they both long for each other. And now that the secret of who she really is has come out, so have Hell’s strongest reapers. Grown bold and more vicious, the demonic threaten her in the light of day and stalk her in the night.

She’s been warned.
Cadan, a demonic reaper, comes to her with information about Bastian’s new plan to destroy Ellie’s soul and use an ancient relic to wake all the souls of the damned and unleash them upon humanity. As she fights to stay ahead of Bastian’s schemes , the revelations about those closest to her awaken a dark power within Ellie that threatens to destroy everything—including herself.

She’ll be betrayed.
Treachery comes even from those whom she loves, and Ellie is broken by the deaths of those who stood beside her in this Heavenly war. Still, she must find a way to save the world, herself, and her love for Will. If she fails, there will be hell to pay.



Wings of the Wicked is the exciting new instalment in the ever-so-popular Angelfire trilogy. Packed with action, new characters and the romance us readers just can't get enough of, this book will leave you breathless!


We've still got our fighting heroine, Ellie, who's trying to adapt to the life of a Preliator. Her relationship with Will is getting more business-like every day and to make everything worse, Bastian is after her. Yes, the poor guy just can't leave her alone can he? I loved reading the battle scenes but my favourite parts of the book would be the time where Ellie gets to be alone with Will. I just want them two to be together! I know their in a complicated situation, Michael told Will that he was to be Ellie's Guardian, to protect her and be nothing other than her Guardian. Through out the book I was thinking, "COME ON! GUYS! TAKE A RISK!"

One thing I ABSOLUTELY hate about this book was the ending. There is a horrible cliffhanger, I'll let you guys read the book and find out for yourself. Another thing, don't be afraid to read this! Courtney does not dissappoint. So if you want a book where girls fight with cool swords, try it out!

Overall, Wings of the Wicked is a book that I recommend to all young-adult paranormal/action fans who want a heart racing story. 

Rating

Thursday, 10 May 2012

My review of Article 5

Article 5 (Article 5 #1) by Kristin Simmons
Release Date: January 31, 2012
Goodreads | Amazon UK | Amazon | The Book Depository


Article 5 (Article 5, #1)New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.

The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.

There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it's hard for her to forget that people weren't always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It's hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved.



Article 5 is another brilliant addition to the dystopian genre. I couldn't put it down! It has an amazing plot and extraordinary characters! If you enjoyed Divergent or Eve then I think this one is the one for you!


Ember Miller lead an ordinary life. Until her mother was arrest for breaking Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. To make matters worse, one of the officers who arrested her mother was Chase Jennings. The only boy Ember has ever loved and cared for, but he isn't like he used to be. He's changed. And Ember doesn't know what to do to bring him back.

I really enjoyed Ember's voice. I didn't mind listening to her problems and worries. She is a very strong and courageous character who, in many ways, reminded me of Tris from Divergent. I loved reading about her relationship with Chase, from start to finish that boy had me swooning! Handsome, confident, clever, have I mentioned the fact that he is so handsome? 

The book was action packed and full of exciting twists! It was slightly predictable at times but apart from that, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Kristen Miller has delivered a book that will appeal to many fans of young-adult fiction. I can't wait to find out what she has got installed for us next!


Overall, Article 5 is a fun and daring book that will leave you anxiously awaiting for it's sequel. 


Rating